Biography of Jean Paul Riopelle:

Jean Paul Riopelle is born in Montréal on October 7, 1923. He is the son of Anna and Léopold Riopelle.

Riopelle, rue de Lorimier à Montréal, 1943

1936 -1946:
The Training Years

Around 1936, Riopelle takes drawing and painting lessons with Henri Bisson, professor at Saint-Louis-de-Gonzague school, where he studies and exceeds expectations. Through his father, he meets Archibald Belaney, aka Grey Owl, who inspired Riopelle's passion for nature, wildlife and environment.

In 1942, after a preparatory year, Riopelle begins his studies at École Polytechnique de Montréal. During the evenings and on Sundays he continues to draw, "just about anything, nature". His first landscapes date back to this period. He also takes correspondence courses in architecture, showing a particular interest for perspective. He is also a keen photographer.

In 1943, Riopelle takes a few classes at École des beaux-arts, and enrols at École du meuble. That is where he meets Professor Paul-Émile Borduas, with whom he creates his first abstract paintings. He works with a few of his schoolmates in a shed in Montréal. This is also the birthplace of the group later referred to as Les Automatistes, which will include, among others, illustrious names such as Marcel Barbeau, Pierre and Claude Gauvreau, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Fernand Leduc, Marcelle Ferron and Françoise Sullivan. Riopelle also visits painters. Later, he will state that "the most important influence on me was certainly Ozias Leduc. When I visited him, he was an old man living in a shack, everyone thought he was crazy. He was a great painter. He could easily spend three, four years on a painting. When he painted a tree, he followed its progress meticulously through the seasons. In the spring, he put buds on the branches; in the autumn, he made leaves fall; in the winter, he put snow on it. Gradually, a crust would form - and then he would work on the painting again for twenty minutes and finish it, and it would be a masterpiece."

In 1946, Riopelle participates in the first exhibition by Les Automatistes with Marcel Barbeau, Paul-Émile Borduas, Henri Fauteux, Pierre Gauvreau, Fernand Leduc and Jean-Paul Mousseau.

That same year, Riopelle undertakes his first voyage of discovery to France, followed by a trip to New York where he frequents the studio of engraver William Hayter. Riopelle eventually begins some engraving work. Despite his frequent travels, he produces an impressive number of artworks that year - more than a hundred pen and ink drawings and watercolours.

During his brief visit to Montréal in 1946 he marries Françoise Lespérance, with whom he returns to Paris to live.

read moreless

Leduc et Riopelle à la Galerie du Luxembourg, 1947 by Yves Hervochon

1947-1949:
Beginnings in Paris

In 1947, Riopelle's work is presented as part of an exhibition by Les Automatistes at Galerie du Luxembourg, organized in collaboration with the poet Gérard Jarlot as well as Fernand Leduc. He also meets renowned art dealer Pierre Loeb, who will, a few years later, propel Riopelle's career. He becomes friends with art critic Georges Duthuit and meets Nina Dausset, who runs the Galerie La Dragonne, the meeting place of the Surrealists.

In June 1947, he signs the text Rupture inaugurale out of solidarity with André Breton and the Surrealists.

In 1948, upon the birth of his eldest daughter Yseult, Riopelle spends the year in Montréal and Saint-Hilaire. On August 9, the Refus global manifesto is published, with Riopelle as one of the signees alongside other illustrious artists such as Paul-Émile Borduas, Fernand Leduc, Muriel Guilbault, Madeleine Arbour, Marcel Barbeau, Thérèse Renaud, Louise Renaud, Marcelle Ferron, Bruno Cormier, Françoise Sullivan, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Maurice Perron, Pierre Gauvreau, Claude Gauvreau as well as Françoise Riopelle. This important work challenged the traditional and religious values of Québec society and would influence the history of Québec for decades to come.

In December, Riopelle and his family return to Paris. From that moment, he participates regularly in various art fairs, particularly the Salon de mai.

Riopelle's first solo exhibition opens in 1949 at Galerie La Dragonne in Paris.

Sylvie, Riopelle's youngest daughter, is born in June 1949.

read moreless

Riopelle, Atelier Durantin, 1952 by John Craven

The 1950s:
The Decade of the Great Mosaics

The buzzing Parisian life is echoed in the creative effervescence of the young painter. During this period, his style develops enormously. Riopelle experiments, one after the other, with various techniques and media: painting with a brush, sculptural impasto, sprayed lines of paint, and paint applied with palette knives. He exhibits his artwork at Galerie Raymond Creuze in Paris.

In 1951, Riopelle participates in the Véhémences confrontées exhibition presented by Michel Tapié at Galerie La Dragonne with, among others, Camille Bryen, Hans Hartung, Georges Mathieu and Jackson Pollock. Michel Tapié also organizes an exhibition at Studio Paul Facchetti.

In 1952, Riopelle begins to work in a studio on Durantin Street in Montmartre, loaned to him by Henri Fara. "It is the first time I had my own studio." At the end of the year, his mosaic style, using sparsely distributed small touches, is refined. That same year, Riopelle exhibits at Galerie Henriette Niepce in Paris.

The Riopelle family travels widely. The artist will even say that "Travelling is somewhat part of a dream. Perhaps we travel to find titles for paintings already done. Otherwise, we have to bother our friends. All the same, the shock of Prado, Toledo, the Cordoba Mosque. There, something happens."

In 1953, he is so taken by the mosaics that he produces over sixty artworks. The winds of change have begun to blow for the artist, who first joins Galerie Pierre Loeb in Paris, then the Pierre Matisse Gallery in New York. His participation in the Younger European Painters at the Guggenheim Museum in New York is remarked upon by the critics.

It is also the year when Riopelle and his friend and garage owner Philippot begin to reconstruct his first vintage cars bought from a scrap dealer. Over time, this would become a passion for the artist. Riopelle and his friends, Alex Costa, Daniel Andrisse and Paolo Valors, will eventually build, around 1960, a race car and join the 24-hour race at Le Mans.

From 1954, Riopelle exhibits regularly in the Pierre Matisse Gallery in New York. He represents Canada at the Venice Biennale, with Paul-Émile Borduas and B.C. Binning. His friend Alberto Giacometti was also at the Biennale that year.

In 1955, Riopelle moves into his studio in Vanves. He participates in the Sao Paulo Biennale, travels to the United States and befriends Franz Kline, whose work he admires. He meets Joan Mitchell, a young American painter who will later become his companion.

In 1956, Gimpel Gallery in London and Galerie Jacques Dubourg in Paris host solo exhibitions for Riopelle.

At the end of the fifties, the artist returns to modelling sculptures. "In fact, I've always made sculptures. But because I did not have the money to cast them in bronze, they were either lost or broken." He meets Jacques Delahaye, whom he describes as a "great sculptor", and soon takes over his foundry with sculptor Roseline Granet.

References to nature in his work become more explicit. "Since there is no longer any common symbolic language accepted by all, another relationship is needed. For me, that relationship is my contact with nature. Now, contact with nature means documenting nature. There are a thousand ways to create a work of art, but for me, the simplest is drawing, and learning about stones if I want to draw stones, or about heads if I want to draw heads..."

read moreless

Riopelle, Atelier de Vanves, 1962, Galerie Dubourg, Paris

The 1960s:
Experimentation

In 1960, Jean Paul Riopelle presents solo exhibitions in Paris at Galerie Kléber (now Galerie Jean Fournier) and at Galerie Jacques Dubourg. He travels to East Hampton in the United States, where he spends over a year. He rents a studio, where he works on, among others, a sculpture comprised of chess pieces. Always looking to innovate, Riopelle experiments with a wide variety of techniques and matter.

In 1962, the painter and pastellist Sam Szafran chisels Riopelle's bronzes that are exhibited for the first time at Galerie Jacques Dubourg, then at Pierre Matisse Gallery in New York. Szafran introduces Riopelle to pastels and will later assist him in the creation of his collage works in 1967.

In 1962, Riopelle is awarded one of three Unesco prizes at the Venice Biennale.

In 1963, the National Gallery of Canada organizes a retrospective of his work, which travels to the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts and the Art Gallery of Toronto (now the Art Gallery of Ontario). The Toronto International Airport commissions a painting, Point de rencontre, which Riopelle paints over the course of one night - the largest oil on canvas he will ever make (4.26 x 5.49 meters).

1964 -1965 marks a return to representation. Riopelle draws sketches of the Pyrénées and a view from his hotel room in Superbagnières, in the south west of France. He creates a series of studies for the tapestry project Les oiseaux, which is produced at the Manufacture nationale des Gobelins and completed in 1968.

Beginning in 1966, Riopelle exhibits regularly at Galerie Maeght in Paris. He rediscovers engraving.

In 1967, Riopelle produces a large series of collages, created with his lithographic essays. That same year, the Musée du Québec (now Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec), whose director at the time was Guy Viau, presents a retrospective of Riopelle's work - the first major exhibition of his work in the province of Québec.

In 1968, Riopelle's work is included in the Canadian art exhibition at Galeries nationales du Grand Palais de Paris. He also begins modelling sculptures, many of which will have an animal motif and some of which will later become elements of the fountain-sculpture La Joute.

In 1969, Riopelle rents a hangar in Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies, North West of Paris, where he will establish his studio.

read moreless

Riopelle, Arctique, July 1977 by Claude Duthuit

The 1970s:
Between France and Canada

In 1970, a plaster cast of La Joute is exhibited for the first time at Fondation Maeght. The piece contains various elements which synthesize a large number of past and future themes: animal motifs, string games, masks, etc.

Riopelle's stays in Canada, motivated by hunting and fishing, become longer and more frequent.

In 1971, Riopelle begins the Jeux de ficelles series - acrylic paintings based on Inuit string games - in his Val Fleury studio in Meudon. The Musée d'art moderne de la Ville de Paris presents a solo exhibition where La Joute, large collages, and Les Suites lithographs are exhibited, among others. At the same time, the Centre culturel canadien in Paris features a number of Jeux de ficelles.

In 1973, a journey to the Arctic inspires him to create a series of works on paper entitled Les Rois de Thulé.

The following year, Riopelle builds a studio in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, in the Laurentian region in the province of Québec. From now on, he will divide his time between Sainte-Marguerite and his other studio in Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies in France. He also works at Imprimerie Arte of Galerie Maeght in Paris.

In 1975, he completes the first production of oil on canvas and colour ink in his new studio-barn in Sainte-Marguerite.

In 1976, he spends time in L'Isle-aux-Oies, where he creates a series of realistic drawings on the theme of goose hunting. That same year the fountain-sculpture La Joute, cast in bronze, is installed at the Olympic Park in Montréal.

In 1977, following another journey in the Arctic, Riopelle commences work on his black and white Icebergs series in Sainte-Marguerite, which he will complete in France in his studio in Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies.

In 1979, in the Fondation Maeght studios in France, he begins working with ceramist Hans Spinner on the 61 elements that will make up the great ceramic wall - porcelaine, earthenware and rope - which he will complete in 1981. Like the fountain-sculpture La Joute, this ensemble of works is a synthesis of the past and future of Riopelle's work.

read moreless

Riopelle devant Le Bestiaire à l’atelier de Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies, 1989 by Jacqueline Hyde

The 1980s:
Work on Paper

In 1981, a retrospective of Riopelle's paintings from 1946 to 1977 is held at the Musée national d'art moderne in Paris, which then travels to the Musée du Québec (now Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec), to the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the Museum of Modern Art in Mexico and finally to the National Museum of Fine Arts in Caracas.

In this period, Riopelle produces a significant number of works about wild geese, a theme he began exploring in 1976 and which will continue until his final works in 1992.

In 1984 - 1985, Riopelle, who has been experimenting for many years with ceramic technique, creates with Hans Spinner in Opio, France, a series of enamelled lava, which will be exhibited at Château-Musée de Vallauris.

In 1986, his eldest daughter Yseult undertakes the compilation of a comprehensive Catalogue raisonné of his works, which he describes as "unreasonable". The first of nine volumes is published in 1999.

In 1989, after a long stay at a rehabilitation clinic following an accident, Riopelle produces nearly 400 works until his definitive return to the province of Québec at the end of the year. That year, on the occasion of the bicentenary of the French Revolution, the Canadian government presents France with the painting Point de rencontre (1963), which is installed at Opéra de Bastille, in Paris.

read moreless

Riopelle, Isle-aux-Grues, September 1991 by Bruno Massenet

The 1990s:
From Sainte-Marguerite to L'Isle-aux-Grues

In 1990, back in the province of Québec, Riopelle paints a gigantic mural, originally entitled Le Haut et le Bas Canada, and then renamed Hommage à Scottie Wilson. That same year, in France, Jean-Louis Prat, director and curator of Fondation Maeght, presents the exhibition Riopelle, d'hier et d'aujourd'hui.

In December 1991, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts presents a major retrospective exhibition - Riopelle - on the occasion of the inauguration of the new Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion.

In the fall of 1992, upon learning of the death of Joan Mitchell, his companion for more than twenty-five years, Riopelle creates the monumental fresco dedicated to her memory, L'Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg. "There is no more Rosa Sorrow. Nor even Rosa Happiness. All the Rosas are dead..."

From 1994, Jean Paul Riopelle divides his time between Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson and L'Isle-aux-Grues, where he purchases a new estate, MacPherson Manor, located on the tip of the island. "It's like being on a ship. I can withstand long sieges, spend the winter there if necessary. An island is a ship without a sail."

In 1995, L'Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg is unveiled at Château de La Roche-Guyon near Paris, before being presented in 1996, at the Musée du Québec (now Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec), where it remains exhibited permanently in the vast passage between the main pavilion and the Pierre Lassonde Pavilion.

Jean Paul Riopelle dies on March 12, 2002, at his residence in L'Isle-aux-Grues. A state funeral is held in his honour.

read moreless

Riopelle around
the world

The œuvre of Riopelle transcends all frontiers. Whether in his hometown, Montréal, his forty years in France, his many travels and adventures to the limits of our world, or until his return to Québec, his artistic and cultural footprint spans all corners of the world to the delight of many collectors, museums or through the archives and treasures disseminated during his lifetime.

Riopelle’s artworks belonging to public collections can be found in over 60 cities located in 18 countries and 6 continents. In total, this amounts to no less than 400 artworks in these collections, excluding engravings and sculptures.

The interactive map below includes the main locations – buildings, museums, art galleries, etc. – where public collections feature artworks by Riopelle, whether currently exhibited or in the collection reserves.

“Travelling is somewhat part of a dream. Perhaps we travel to find titles for paintings already done. Otherwise, we have to bother our friends. All the same, the shock of Prado, Toledo, the Cordoba Mosque. There, something happens.”

– Jean Paul Riopelle, 1952, during a trip in Spain on a motorcycle and by train.

Selected Bibliography:

2010 – 2020

UPCOMING PUBLICATIONS | FALL 2020

Gagnon, François-Marc. Jean Paul Riopelle and the Automatiste Mouvement. Montréal and Kingston (Ontario), McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2020.

Riopelle, Yseult and Tanguy Riopelle. Catalogué raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle, volume 5, 1972 – 1979, Montréal, Hibou éditeurs, 2020.

PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED

Baxter, Bonnie. « Riopelle and Me : Impression passagère », dans Transatlantic Passages. Literary and Cultural Relations between Quebec and Francophone Europe, Paola Gilbert et Miléna Santoro (dir.), Montréal et Kingston (Ontario), McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2010, p. 227-258.

Corbeil, Marie-Claude, Kate Helwig et Jennifer Poulin. Jean Paul Riopelle. The Artist’s Materials, Los Angeles, Getty Publications, 2011.

Ellenwood, Ray. « Riopelle and Indigenous Art ». Exile, vol. 42, no 3, 2019, p. 105-113.

Gagnon, François-Marc. Jean Paul Riopelle, Life and Work, Toronto, Art Canada Institute, 2019.

Gagnon, François-Marc. « Riopelle, l’ekphrasis et l’invisibilité ». Études françaises, vol. 51, no 2, 2015, p. 69-86.

Lapointe, Gilles. « Mitchell et Riopelle : affinités et confrontations ». Compte rendu, Spirale, no 263, hiver 2018, p. 50-55.

Lequeux, Emmanuelle. « Joan Mitchell Jean-Paul Riopelle. Les amants terribles de l’abstraction », Beaux-arts magazine, no 403, janvier 2018, p. 67-73.

Musée des beaux-arts du Québec. Mitchell / Riopelle: Nothing in Moderation, Québec, 2018.

Riopelle, Yseult et Tanguy Riopelle. Catalogue raisonné de Jean-Paul Riopelle, volume 4, 1961-1971. Texte de François-Marc Gagnon, Montréal, Hibou éditeurs, 2014.

Vachon, Huguette. Jean-Paul, fenêtres intimes. Montréal, Leméac, 2020.

Vigneault, Louise. Espace artistique et modèle pionnier. Tom Thompson et Jean Paul Riopelle. Montréal, Hurtubise, 2011.

View full bibliography

Biographie de Jean Paul Riopelle

Jean Paul Riopelle naît à Montréal le 7 octobre 1923. Il est le fils d’Anna et de Léopold Riopelle.

Riopelle, rue de Lorimier, Montréal, 1943

1936 - 1946 :
Les années de formation

Vers 1936, Riopelle prend des cours de dessin et de peinture avec Henri Bisson, professeur à l’école Saint-Louis-de-Gonzague, où il étudie et surpasse toute attente. Il fait la rencontre, par l'entremise de son père, du naturaliste Archibald Belaney, alias Grey Owl, qui lui inspirera sa passion pour la nature, la faune et l'environnement.

En 1942, après une année préparatoire, Riopelle entre à l’École polytechnique de Montréal. Le soir et le dimanche, il continue à dessiner, « n’importe quoi, la nature ». Ses premiers paysages datent de cette époque. Il suit également, pendant environ deux ans, des cours d’architecture par correspondance, s’intéressant particulièrement à la perspective, et pratique assidûment la photographie.

En 1943, Riopelle suit quelques cours à l’École des beaux-arts, puis il s’inscrit à l’École du meuble. Il y rencontre le professeur Paul-Émile Borduas, auprès de qui il réalise ses premières œuvres abstraites. Il travaille avec quelques camarades de classe dans un hangar de Montréal. C’est la naissance du groupe qu’on nommera plus tard « les automatistes » et qui comprendra, entre autres, de grands noms tels que Marcel Barbeau, Pierre et Claude Gauvreau, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Fernand Leduc, Marcelle Ferron, Françoise Sullivan. Riopelle rend également visite à des peintres. Il affirmera même, plus tard : « La plus importante des influences que j’ai subies, c’est certainement celle d’Ozias Leduc. Quand je suis allé le voir, c'était un vieillard qui vivait dans une cabane. Tout le monde le croyait fou. C'était un grand peintre. Il pouvait passer trois ou quatre ans sur un tableau. Quand il peignait un arbre, il le suivait scrupuleusement à travers les saisons. Au printemps, il mettait des bourgeons sur les branches ; à l'automne, il faisait tomber les feuilles ; en hiver, il y mettait de la neige. Peu à peu, ça devenait une véritable croûte - et puis, en vingt minutes, il reprenait et finissait le tableau et c'était un chef-d'oeuvre. »

En 1946, Riopelle participe à la première exposition du groupe des automatistes, en compagnie de Marcel Barbeau, Paul-Émile Borduas, Henri Fauteux, Pierre Gauvreau, Fernand Leduc et Jean-Paul Mousseau.

C'est aussi l'année où il effectue son premier voyage d’exploration en France. À l’automne, il se rend à New York, où il fréquente le studio du graveur William Hayter. Il se mettra lui-même à la gravure plus tard. Malgré ses déplacements fréquents, sa production artistique est impressionnante – plus d’une centaine d’encres et aquarelles.

Lors d’un bref passage à Montréal en 1946, il épouse Françoise Lespérance, avec qui il retourne aussitôt à Paris.

lire la suitemoins

Leduc et Riopelle à la Galerie du Luxembourg, 1947 par Yves Hervochon

1947-1949 :
Les débuts à Paris

En 1947, Riopelle participe à l’exposition des automatistes à la Galerie du Luxembourg, organisée en collaboration avec le poète Gérard Jarlot et Fernand Leduc. Il fait également la rencontre du célèbre marchand d’art Pierre Loeb, qui le consacrera quelques années plus tard, et il se lie d’amitié avec le critique d’art Georges Duthuit. Il fait également la connaissance de Nina Dausset, qui dirige la Galerie La Dragonne, alors rendez-vous des surréalistes.

En juin 1947, il signe le texte Rupture inaugurale solidairement avec André Breton et le groupe des surréalistes.

En 1948, à la naissance d’Yseult, sa fille aînée, Riopelle passe l’année à Montréal et à Saint-Hilaire. Le 9 août paraît le manifeste Refus global, dont Riopelle est cosignataire, aux côtés d’autres grands noms du domaine des arts tels Paul-Émile Borduas, Fernand Leduc, Muriel Guilbault, Madeleine Arbour, Marcel Barbeau, Thérèse Renaud, Louise Renaud, Marcelle Ferron, Bruno Cormier, Françoise Sullivan, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Maurice Perron, Pierre Gauvreau, Claude Gauvreau ainsi que Françoise Riopelle. Cet ouvrage important, qui remettait en question les valeurs traditionnelles et religieuses de la société québécoise de l’époque, marquera durablement l’histoire du Québec pour les décennies à venir.

En décembre, Riopelle et sa famille rentrent à Paris. À partir de cette année, Riopelle participera régulièrement à divers salons, et particulièrement le Salon de mai.

La première exposition individuelle des œuvres de Riopelle se tient en 1949 à la galerie La Dragonne à Paris.

Sylvie, fille cadette de Jean Paul Riopelle, naît en juin 1949.

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle, atelier Durantin, 1952 par John Craven

Les années 1950 :
La décennie des grandes mosaïques

Le bourdonnement de la vie parisienne fait écho à l'effervescence créative du jeune peintre. Durant cette période, son style évolue énormément. Riopelle expérimente tour à tour des techniques très variées : peinture appliquée au pinceau, empâtement de couches de matière qui s’apparente à de la sculpture, projections de filaments de peinture, application de la peinture au moyen de couteaux. Il expose à la Galerie Raymond Creuze, à Paris.

En 1951, Riopelle participe à l’exposition Véhémences confrontées montée par Michel Tapié à la Galerie La Dragonne avec, entre autres, Camille Bryen, Hans Hartung, Georges Mathieu et Jackson Pollock. Une exposition de son travail, organisée également par Tapié, est présentée au studio Paul Facchetti.

En 1952, Riopelle travaille dans un atelier, rue Durantin, à Montmartre, prêté par Henri Fara. «  C’est la première fois que j’ai eu un atelier à moi. » À la toute fin de l’année, son style « mosaïque », c’est-à-dire par petites touches densément réparties, se précise. Cette année-là, Riopelle expose à la Galerie Henriette Niepce, à Paris.

La famille voyage beaucoup. L’artiste dira même que « les voyages, ça fait un peu partie du rêve. Peut-être qu’on voyage pour trouver des titres aux tableaux qu’on a faits. Sinon, il faut embêter les amis.  Tout de même, le choc du Prado, de Tolède, la mosquée de Cordoue. Là, il se passe quelque chose. »

En 1953, les mosaïques l’accaparent au point où il exécute cette année-là plus d’une soixantaine de peintures. Le vent vient de tourner pour le jeune peintre, qui se joint à la galerie Pierre Loeb de Paris, puis à celle de Pierre Matisse à New York. Sa présence à l’exposition Younger European Painters au Musée Guggenheim est remarquée par la critique.

C’est aussi l’année où Riopelle et son ami garagiste Philippot entreprennent de reconstruire ses premières voitures anciennes achetées chez un ferrailleur et qui, au fil des ans, deviendront pour l’artiste l’objet d’une véritable passion. Riopelle et ses amis Alex Costa, Daniel Andrisse et Paolo Valors construiront vers 1960 une voiture de course qu’ils feront concourir l’année suivante aux 24 heures du Mans.

À partir de 1954, Riopelle expose régulièrement à la Pierre Matisse Gallery de New York. Il représente le Canada à la Biennale de Venise en compagnie de Paul-Émile Borduas et de B.C. Benning. Son ami Alberto Giacometti participe également à l'évènement cette année-là.

En 1955, Riopelle s’installe dans son atelier de Vanves. Il participe à la Biennale de Sao Paulo, voyage aux États-Unis et se lie d’amitié avec Franz Kline, qu’il admire. Il rencontre la jeune peintre américaine Joan Mitchell, qui deviendra plus tard sa compagne de vie.

En 1956, la Galerie Gimpel à Londres et la Galerie Jacques Dubourg à Paris consacrent chacune une exposition à Riopelle.

Vers la fin des années 1950, l’artiste recommence à modeler des sculptures. «  En réalité j’ai toujours fait de la sculpture. Mais comme je n’avais pas d’argent pour les faire couler en bronze, ces pièces se sont perdues ou cassées. » Il rencontre Jacques Delahaye, qu’il décrit comme « un grand sculpteur », et dont il reprendra la fonderie, en association avec la sculpteure Roseline Granet.

La référence à la nature se fait, depuis la fin des années cinquante, plus explicite. « Puisqu’il n’y a plus de symbolique acceptée par tout le monde, il faut un autre rapport. Pour moi, c’est le contact avec la nature. Or, le contact avec la nature, c’est la documentation. Il y a mille façons de faire acte de création, mais pour moi, le plus simple c’est de dessiner et de me documenter sur la nature des cailloux, si tu as envie de dessiner des cailloux, des têtes si tu as envie de dessiner des têtes… »

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle, atelier de Vanves, 1952, Galerie Jacques Dubourg, Paris

Les années 1960 :
L’expérimentation

En 1960, Jean Paul Riopelle présente des expositions individuelles à Paris à la Galerie Kléber, qui deviendra la Galerie Jean Fournier, et à la Galerie Jacques Dubourg. Il effectue un séjour de plus d’un an à East Hampton, aux États-Unis. Il loue un atelier où il travaille, entre autres, la sculpture de pièces devant composer un jeu d’échec. Cherchant sans cesse à innover, Riopelle utilise des techniques et des matériaux de plus en plus variés.

En 1962, le peintre et pastelliste Sam Szafran cisèle les bronzes de Riopelle qui seront exposés pour la première fois à Paris, à la Galerie Jacques Dubourg, puis chez Pierre Matisse à New York. Szafran introduira Riopelle à la technique du pastel et assistera à la création des collages, en 1967.

En 1962, Riopelle voit aussi son travail consacré à la Biennale de Venise, où il reçoit l’un des trois prix de l’Unesco.

En 1963, la Galerie nationale du Canada – aujourd’hui le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada – lui consacre une rétrospective qui circule au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal ainsi qu’à l’Art Gallery of Toronto – l’ancêtre du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario. L’aéroport international de Toronto lui commande une œuvre, Point de rencontre, qu’il exécute en une seule nuit, sa plus grande huile sur toile jamais réalisée (4,26 x 5,49 mètres).

En 1964 -1965, c’est le début du retour vers la figuration. Riopelle dessine des croquis des pics des Pyrénées vus de sa chambre d'hôtel à Superbagnères, dans le sud-ouest de la France. Il produit une série d'études pour un projet de tapisserie, Les Oiseaux, mis en chantier à la manufacture des Gobelins et terminé en 1968.

À partir de 1966, Riopelle expose régulièrement à la Galerie Maeght, à Paris. Il redécouvre alors le travail de l’estampe.

En 1967, on assiste à une production très importante de collages réalisés avec ses essais lithographiques. Cette année-là, le Musée du Québec – maintenant le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec –, alors dirigé par Guy Viau, présente une grande rétrospective des œuvres de Riopelle. Il s’agit alors de la première grande exposition consacrée à Riopelle chez lui, au Québec.

En 1968, Riopelle figure dans l’exposition d’art canadien aux Galeries nationales du Grand Palais de Paris. C’est aussi le début de l'élaboration des sculptures, surtout sur le thème animalier, dont certaines deviendront des éléments de la sculpture-fontaine La Joute.

En 1969, Riopelle loue un hangar à Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies, au nord-ouest de Paris, où il établira son atelier.

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle, Arctique, 1977 par Claude Duthuit

Les années 1970 :
Entre la France et le Canada

En 1970, La Joute (en plâtre) est exposée à la Fondation Maeght. Cet ensemble d'éléments fait la synthèse d'un grand nombre de thématiques passées ou prémonitoires : thèmes animaliers, jeux de ficelles, masques, etc.

Les séjours de Riopelle au Canada se font plus fréquents et plus longs, notamment pour s’adonner à la chasse et à la pêche.

En 1971, Riopelle entreprend la série Jeux de ficelles, des peintures à l'acrylique sur le thème des jeux pratiqués par les Inuits, dans son atelier du Val Fleury de Meudon. Le Musée d’art moderne de la Ville de Paris lui consacre une exposition personnelle : La Joute, les grands collages et Les Suites (lithographies) y sont notamment exposés. Simultanément, le Centre culturel canadien à Paris présente un certain nombre de Jeux de ficelles.

En 1973, un voyage dans l'Arctique lui inspire une série d'œuvres sur papier : Les Rois de Thulé.

L’année suivante, Riopelle construit un atelier à Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, dans la région québécoise des Laurentides. Dès lors, il travaillera tantôt à Sainte-Marguerite, tantôt dans son atelier français de Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies. Il travaille également à l'imprimerie Arte de la Galerie Maeght à Paris.

En 1975, c’est la première production d’huiles sur toile et d’encres de couleur dans son nouvel atelier-grange de Sainte-Marguerite.

En 1976, Riopelle séjourne à l’Isle-aux-Oies, où il réalise une série réaliste de dessins dont le thème est la chasse aux oies. La même année, en prévision des Jeux de la 21e olympiade, on installe La Joute, coulée en bronze, au Parc olympique de Montréal.

En 1977, dans la foulée d'un nouveau séjour en Arctique, Riopelle amorce à Sainte-Marguerite les toiles en noir et blanc de la série des Icebergs. Il complètera la série en France, à son atelier de Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies.

En 1979, aux ateliers de la Fondation Maeght, il commence à travailler avec le céramiste Hans Spinner sur les 61 éléments qui constitueront un grand mur de céramique – porcelaine, grès et cordages – achevé en 1981. Au même titre que la sculpture-fontaine La Joute, cet ensemble est une véritable synthèse du passé et de l’avenir de l'œuvre de Riopelle.

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle devant Le Bestiaire à l’atelier de Saint-Cyr-en-Arthies, 1989 par Jacqueline Hyde

Les années 1980 :
Le travail du papier

Une exposition rétrospective, présentant des œuvres réalisées de 1946 à 1977, est organisée en 1981 au Musée national d’art moderne, à Paris, puis au Musée du Québec, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, au Musée d’art moderne de Mexico, et enfin au Musée des beaux-arts de Caracas. On assiste au cours de cette période à une importante production d’œuvres consacrées aux oies sauvages, thématique commencée en 1976 que l’artiste approfondira jusqu'en 1992.

En 1984 - 1985, Riopelle, qui expérimente et développe depuis longtemps des techniques reliées à la céramique, réalise avec Hans Spinner, à Opio, en France une série de laves émaillées qui seront exposées au Château-Musée de Vallauris.

En 1986, sa fille aînée Yseult Riopelle entreprend l’élaboration d’un catalogue raisonné de son œuvre, une entreprise que Jean Paul Riopelle qualifie lui-même de «  déraisonnée  ». Le premier de neuf tomes sera publié en 1999.

En 1989, après un long séjour dans une clinique de réadaptation suite à un accident, Riopelle crée près de 400 œuvres jusqu'à son départ définitif pour le Québec à la toute fin de l'année. Toujours en 1989, à l’occasion du Bicentenaire de la Révolution française, le gouvernement canadien fait don à la France de Point de rencontre (1963). Cette œuvre est exposée à l’Opéra Bastille, à Paris.

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle, Isle-aux-Grues, septembre 1991 par Bruno Massenet

Les années 1990 :
De Sainte-Marguerite à l’Isle-aux-Grues

En 1990, de retour au Québec, Riopelle peint une murale gigantesque intitulée dans un premier temps Le Haut et le Bas Canada, pour être ensuite rebaptisée Hommage à Scottie Wilson. La même année, en France, le directeur et commissaire de la Fondation Maeght, Jean-Louis Prat, présente une exposition intitulée Riopelle, d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

En décembre 1991, c’est le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal qui présente une importante rétrospective intitulée Riopelle à l'occasion de l’inauguration du nouveau pavillon Jean-Noël Desmarais.

À l’automne 1992, à l’annonce de la disparition de Joan Mitchell, sa compagne de plus de 25 ans, Riopelle crée l’imposante fresque dédiée à sa mémoire, L'Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg. « Il n’y a plus de Rosa Malheur. Même plus de Rosa Bonheur. Toutes les Rosa sont mortes… »

À partir de 1994, Jean Paul Riopelle réside en alternance à Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson et à l’Isle-aux-Grues, où il acquiert sa nouvelle résidence, le Manoir MacPherson, à la pointe de l’île. « Je suis comme sur mon bateau, je peux y soutenir de longs sièges, passer l’hiver s’il le faut. Une île est un voilier sans mât. »

En 1995, on assiste au dévoilement de L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg au Château de La Roche-Guyon, non loin de Paris, avant qu'elle ne soit présentée, au printemps 1996, au Musée du Québec (Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec), où elle demeure aujourd'hui exposée en permanence.

Jean Paul Riopelle s’éteint le 12 mars 2002, à sa résidence de l’Isle-aux-Grues. Des funérailles nationales sont célébrées en son honneur.

lire la suitemoins

Riopelle
à travers le monde

L’œuvre de Riopelle transcende les frontières. De sa ville natale, Montréal, à ses quelque quarante ans en France, de ses voyages et ses aventures jusqu’aux extrêmes limites de notre monde, jusqu’à son retour au Québec, l’empreinte artistique et culturelle de Riopelle s’étend aux quatre coins de la planète, sous l’œil admiratif de nombre de collectionneurs, d’institutions muséales ou encore au fil des archives et des trésors qu’il a disséminés sa vie durant.

Les œuvres de Jean Paul Riopelle appartenant à des collections publiques se retrouvent dans plus de 60 villes situées dans 18 pays et sur 6 continents. On compte au total plus de 400 peintures au nombre de ces collections, excluant les gravures et les sculptures.

La carte interactive ci-dessous recense les principaux lieux – bâtiments, musées, galeries d’art, etc. – où se trouvent des collections publiques contenant des œuvres de l’artiste, qu’elles soient exposées ou conservées dans des réserves.

« Les voyages, ça fait un peu partie d’un rêve. Peut-être qu’on voyage pour trouver des titres aux tableaux qu’on a faits. Sinon, il faut embêter les amis. Tout de même, le choc du Prado, de Tolède, la mosquée de Cordoue. Là, il se passe quelque chose. »

– Jean Paul Riopelle, 1952, lors d’un voyage en Espagne à motocyclette et en train.

Bibliographie sommaire

2010 – 2020

PUBLICATIONS À PARAÎTRE À L’AUTOMNE 2020 :

Gagnon, François-Marc. Jean Paul Riopelle et le mouvement automatiste. Montréal et Kingston (Ontario), McGill-Queen’s University Press. 

Riopelle, Yseult et Tanguy Riopelle. Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle, tome 5, 1972 – 1979, Montréal, Hibou éditeurs, 2020.

PUBLICATIONS ANTÉRIEURES :

Baxter, Bonnie. « Riopelle and Me : Impression passagère », dans Transatlantic Passages. Literary and Cultural Relations between Quebec and Francophone Europe, Paola Gilbert et Miléna Santoro (dir.), Montréal et Kingston (Ontario), McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2010, p. 227-258.

Corbeil, Marie-Claude, Kate Helwig et Jennifer Poulin. Jean Paul Riopelle. The Artist’s Materials, Los Angeles, Getty Publications, 2011.

Ellenwood, Ray. « Riopelle and Indigenous Art ». Exile, vol. 42, no 3, 2019, p. 105-113.

Gagnon, François-Marc. Jean Paul Riopelle, sa vie et son œuvre. Toronto, Institut d’art canadien, 2019.

Gagnon, François-Marc. « Riopelle, l’ekphrasis et l’invisibilité ». Études françaises, vol. 51, no 2, 2015, p. 69-86.

Lapointe, Gilles. « Mitchell et Riopelle : affinités et confrontations ». Compte rendu, Spirale, no 263, hiver 2018, p. 50-55.

Lequeux, Emmanuelle. « Joan Mitchell Jean-Paul Riopelle. Les amants terribles de l’abstraction », Beaux-arts magazine, no 403, janvier 2018, p. 67-73.

Musée des beaux-arts du Québec.  Mitchell / Riopelle : un couple dans la démesure, Québec, 2018.

Riopelle, Yseult et Tanguy Riopelle. Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle, tome 4, 1961-1971. Texte de François-Marc Gagnon, Montréal, Hibou éditeurs, 2014.

Vachon, Huguette. Jean-Paul, fenêtres intimes. Montréal, Leméac, 2020.

Vigneault, Louise. Espace artistique et modèle pionnier. Tom Thompson et Jean Paul Riopelle. Montréal, Hurtubise, 2011.

Voir la bibliographie complète