Riopelle’s
Dream

The creation of the Foundation was inspired by Jean Paul Riopelle’s dream to communicate his passion for art, his vision and to inspire the next generation of visual artists to explore, innovate and surpass their creative potential. Throughout his career, Riopelle experimented with various techniques, embraced matter, always concerned about the durability and quality of materials while seeking to safeguard and pass on art-making techniques. His desire to create a foundation first emerged in the late 1960s in the South of France as he gained experience through his collaboration with Adrien and Aimé Maeght, who provided communal workspaces for artists. The foundation imagined by Riopelle brought together artists and technicians who would participate in workshops in sculpture, painting, engraving and other techniques. At the time, Riopelle even sketched architectural designs for the building he envisioned as a home for the foundation, inspired by an antique sundial in the home he shared with Joan Mitchell in Vétheuil, France. This was one of his many architectural projects.

In 1980, he endeavoured to establish the foundation in Québec with the intent to host artists and artisans from all corners of the world to create what he referred to as “a new tradition”. His dream was to “get people to work together”. Another attempt would follow in 1995, in the outbuildings of the Château de La Roche-Guyon, around the time of the unveiling of L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg in France.

The announcement of the creation of the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation in October of 2019, nearly 20 years after the artist’s death, is driven by admiration and determination. The founding members seek to perpetuate the vision and oeuvre of Riopelle in Canadian and international art, sharing their passion for and appreciation of the artist. The Foundation seeks to fulfill the dream cherished by the artist by creating a space dedicated to celebrating his memory, his life, his art – a space where all will convergent to admire, revisit, rediscover and understand his art and his worldview. The Foundation will enable collectors, art dealers, visual arts experts and aficionados, as well as the general population in his Montréal hometown, in Canada and around the world to reconnect with Riopelle and his immense artistic legacy.

The Foundation is also dedicated to inspiring and supporting the next generation of Canadian and international visual artists. Riopelle thrived on freedom and innovation. The Foundation will encourage and support experimentation and risk-taking in art-making, facilitating cultural partnerships with arts organisations and institutions, faculties and artists’ studios in Canada and around the world. The activities of the foundation will not be confined within the walls of its physical space, but will thrive in partnerships and global collaborations.

Riopelle’s dream will be fulfilled. As one of the most important artists of the 20th century, his legacy will have a lasting impact on the history of Canadian and international art – we hope far beyond his expectations!

Mission

The Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation celebrates the life, work and legacy of the artist through the preservation, promotion and dissemination of his work. The Foundation seeks, through innovation, creative programs, arts education, partnerships and support, to inspire future generations of artists and audiences so they can achieve their full creative potential and broaden their appreciation of Jean Paul Riopelle in the history of Canadian and international art.

Hommage à Robert le Diabolique, 1953, Oil on canvas, 200 x 282 cm
© Estate of Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

Objectives

  • Celebrate and broaden the appreciation of Jean Paul Riopelle in the history of Canadian and international art
  • Perpetuate the memory of Jean Paul Riopelle by encouraging commemorative action, such as the installation of memory plaques on the buildings in which he lived and worked, as well as advocating the application of his illustrious name to public buildings and spaces
  • Encourage Riopelle exhibitions at museums throughout the world, as well as cultural action and collaboration, namely in regard to the centenary of the artist’s birth on October 7, 2023
  • Support young Canadian and international visual artists whose interests are unconventional in relation to current trends in art making
  • Serve as a repository and a centre of scholarship in the documentation, publication and discourse on the oeuvre of Riopelle

Founders

The creation of the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation is the result of the collaboration and vision of exceptional men and women who, inspired by the extraordinary oeuvre and life of Jean Paul Riopelle, came together to fulfill his lifelong dream. The Foundation became a reality in 2018 thanks to the dedication of its six founding members, under the initiative of art collector Michael Audain, whose passion for Riopelle and his oeuvre are equaled only by his ambition to see the artist’s dream come to life to perpetuate his legacy.

Michael Audain

Michael J. Audain, OC, OBC

Michael Audain is Chairman of Polygon Homes Ltd., one of British Columbia’s leading home builders. A fifth generation British Columbian, he was educated at the University of British Columbia and the London School of Economics.

An active supporter of the visual arts, Mr. Audain is Chair of the Audain Foundation, the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation, and the Audain Art Museum Foundation. He is past Chair of the National Gallery of Canada, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and the Vancouver Art Gallery Foundation. He is also a director of the National Gallery of Canada Foundation, the Audain Art Museum, and the Grizzly Bear Foundation.

Mr. Audain has been appointed to the Order of Canada and the Order of British Columbia. He has received honorary degrees from five universities, and the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals.

read moreless

Yseult Riopelle

Yseult Riopelle is the daughter of Françoise Lespérance and Jean Paul Riopelle. At the helm of Hibou Éditeurs and Kétoupa édition, she has been publishing for several years the Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle. Four of the 10 volumes have been published and a fifth is in the works for 2020.

From 1961 to 1963, Yseult Riopelle studied dance in Montréal with Ludmilla Chiriaeff, Jeanne Renaud and Françoise Riopelle, then in Paris with Karine Weiner from 1963 to 1965, then in New York where she joined the Merce Cunningham Dance Company until 1968.

In the 1970s, while in France, Yseult Riopelle created and exhibited sculpture integrating various materials. In the 1980s, she created jewellery that she presented, among others, at the Montréal Exhibition Centre.

In 1988, Jean Paul Riopelle mandated Yseult Riopelle to act as the exclusive authenticator, researcher and editor of the Catalogue raisonné of his oeuvre. She has been acting as an expert of the oeuvre of Jean Paul Riopelle for Canadian museums, and some of the most prestigious auction houses in the world such as Cornette de St-Cyr, Loudmer, Christie's, Sotheby's, Heffel and Artcurial.

Yseult Riopelle continues to dedicate most of her time to the Catalogue raisonné. She also acts as a consultant for various exhibitions and publications in Paris, New York and Montréal. She is also guest curator for the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts for the exhibition Riopelle: The Call of Northern Landscapes and Indigenous Cultures, which will open in Montréal in November of 2020, followed by a Canadian tour. She is also currently completing the fifth volume of the Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle (1972-1979 period), which will be published in late fall of 2020.

read moreless

André Desmarais, OC, OQ

Mr. Desmarais is Deputy Chairman of Power Corporation, a position he has held since 1996. He previously served as President and Co-Chief Executive Officer of Power Corporation from 1996 until his retirement in February 2020, as well as Executive Co-Chairman of Power Financial from 2008 to February 2020.

Prior to joining Power Corporation in 1983, he was Special Assistant to the Minister of Justice of Canada and an institutional investment counsellor at Richardson Greenshields Securities Ltd.

He also serves as Deputy Chairman of Power Financial and is a director of many Power Corporation group companies in North America, including Great-West Lifeco, Canada Life, Empower Retirement, Putnam Investments, IGM Financial, IG Wealth Management and Mackenzie. He is also a director and Vice-Chairman of Pargesa in Europe.

Over the years, cultural, health, and other not-for-profit organizations in Montréal have benefitted from his contributions, involvement, and dedication. He has played key roles in a number of fundraising campaigns, including those of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Montreal Heart Institute, Leucan, the Canadian Red Cross, the Canadian Cancer Society, Centraide of Greater Montreal and the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation. He is Chairman of the Fondation Baxter & Alma Ricard, a member of the Chairman’s International Advisory Council of the Americas Society, Honorary Chairman of the Canada China Business Council, and a member of several China-based organizations.

He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Concordia University and received honorary doctorates from Concordia University, Université de Montréal and McGill University. In 2003, he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada and, in 2009, an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec.

read moreless

The Honorable Serge Joyal, CP, OC, OQ, MSRC, Ad.E.

The Honorable Serge Joyal is a Canadian jurist, a former Member of Parliament, Minister, Secretary of State and Senator.

After his graduation in Law from Université de Montréal, he completed post graduate studies at the Comparative Law Faculty of Strasbourg University (France), he obtained a Master’s degree in Public Law from Sheffield University (England) and registered for a Master of Philosophy at London School of Economics (England).

Serge Joyal has always advocated for the protection of cultural heritage, being among the first directors of Heritage Montreal in 1972, and later a trustee of the Canadian Center for Architecture. He still regularly intervenes publicly with Phyllis Lambert to rescue threatened heritage buildings.

He was co-founder with Father Wilfrid Corbeil in 1968 of the Art Museum of Joliette. He has been a trustee of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts since 2009 and chairs it’s Decorative Arts Committee. A collector of art and historical artefacts, he is a benefactor of several major Canadian museums.

Serge Joyal has written and edited numerous articles and books on law, art and history. A long time promoter of the works of Jean-Paul Riopelle, he was the first to support in 1998 the publication of the first volumes of the Catalogue raisonné of the artist’s works by Yseult Riopelle.

During his distinguished public career, Mr. Joyal has received numerous awards and distinctions including an honorary doctorate from Moncton University (N. B.); he is an Officer of the Order of Canada, an Officer of the Order of La Pléiade, an Officer of the National Order of Quebec, a Chevalier (1995), Officier (2008) and Commandeur (2019) of the National Order of the Légion d’honneur (France).

He is a special Member of the Royal Society of Canada and he has been granted the distinction of Advocate Emeritus by the Quebec Bar.

read moreless

Pierre Lassonde, CM, GOQ

Pierre Lassonde is Past Chairman of Franco-Nevada Mining Corporation, a specialized investment firm he co-founded in 1982 and for which the market capitalization surpasses today 21 billion American dollars.

A dedicated philanthropist in both Canada and the United States in the fields of education, the arts and community, he is Past Chair of the Board of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2005 to December 2016).

His donations total over $100 million and have gone to create iconic programs such as the Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute and Studios at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City, the Lassonde School of Engineering at York University in Toronto, the Lassonde Mining Engineering program at the University of Toronto, and countless scholarships in various universities in Canada.

Mr. Lassonde served on the board of the Denver Opera Company from 2003 to 2008.

During his tenure as Chair of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, he led the $110 million fundraising campaign, with an initial gift of $10 million and $5 million worth of art toward the creation of the Pierre Lassonde Pavilion, dedicated entirely to Canadian art. The Pavilion has revitalized the institution as it has won numerous architectural awards over the past four years.

From 2015 to 2020, Mr. Lassonde acted as Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts (CCA). Under his leadership the CCA has seen a deep transformation and board renewal that led to a doubling of the budget to $360 M by 2021. His insistence on measuring the impact of the investments has led to the CCA’s recognition as a world leader in the field.

Pierre Lassonde holds a B.A. from Université de Montréal (1967), a B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering from Polytechnique de Montréal (1971) and an M.B.A. from University of Utah (1973). He holds honorary doctorates from several Canadian and international universities.

He was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2002 and a Grand Officier de l'Ordre national du Québec in 2019. He was inducted as a Fellow into the Canadian Academy of Engineering in 2006 and inducted into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame in January 2013.

read moreless

John R. Porter, CM, OQ, C.LH, O.AL, MSRC, Ph.D.

Holder of a Ph.D. in art history, and a museologist, professor, researcher, administrator and cultural entrepreneur, John R. Porter has led a double career at Université Laval as well as in three of the four most important Canadian art museums, in Ottawa, Montréal and Québec City.

A prolific author and speaker, he was at the helm of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec from 1993 to 2008, where he instigated an ambitious expansion project - the Pierre Lassonde pavilion inaugurated in 2016.

Mr. Porter acted as Chair of Université Laval, and of the Fondation du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, as well as fiduciary of the Fondation du patrimoine Gilles Vigneault. Consultant and mentor, he is an administrator of various cultural organizations, including Fondation de l'Espace Félix Leclerc, Salon international du livre de Québec as well as the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation.

Holder of an honorary doctorate from Université du Québec à Montréal, Dr. Porter is the recipient of over 40 awards and distinctions in Canada and abroad, including the prestigious Prix Gérard-Morisset, the highest distinction by the Government of Québec for heritage, as well as the Médaille d'honneur de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec.

John R. Porter is an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec, a Member of the Order of Canada, Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur and Officer of the Ordre national des arts et lettres de la République française, a Member of the Ordre de la Pléiade, a Member of the Royal Society of Canada, a member of the Académie des grands Québécois as well as Companion of the Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec.

read moreless

Executive management

Manon Gauthier, Executive Director,
Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation

A renowned cultural leader in Québec and in Canada, Manon Gauthier's career spans over 25 years in arts and creativity, communications and philanthropy.

A stalwart leader and advisor, she contributed to the development and positioning of many businesses and organizations at the local, national and international levels. She acted as senior vice-president of leading international public affairs agencies and successfully led the transformation of the Segal Center for Performing Arts, a Montréal icon of cultural and artistic diversity.

During her tenure as an elected official from 2013 to 2017, at a critical moment in the history of the City of Montreal, she contributed to its revival, holding concurrently as a member of the Executive Committee all responsibilities related to culture, heritage, design, the Space for Life and gender equality, in addition to economic development issues linked to creativity, tourism and international relations.

Strong-minded, strategic, a visionary, she stands out through her bridging leadership. Over the last few decades, she forged and cultivated an important network, whether at the public, institutional or within the cultural and economic sectors, including at the international level.

read moreless

Chantal Shah, Executive Director,
Audain Foundation

Since beginning her tenure as the Executive Director of the Audain Foundation, Chantal has assisted in the establishment of a number of charitable organizations, including the Audain Art Museum, where she currently serves on the Board of Trustees and as an officer of the Audain Art Museum Foundation.

An important collaborator in the establishment of the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation, Chantal is providing continuing guidance and support to its executive director.

Whether through her contributions to the visual arts in her work for the Audain Foundation or her personal interest in the performing arts, Chantal strives to support a range of arts and cultural organizations across Canada.

read moreless

Contribute

Atelier de Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, août 1993 by Bruno Massenet

Riopelle had big dreams. And his dream for the foundation he imagined, included a diversity of people from all walks of life, converging toward a common objective: innovation and creation.

Like his famous mosaics, the artist imagined his project through the thousand and one shades of colour of the women and men whom, from all corners of the world, would contribute to making his dream a reality.

Would you like to add your own touch of colour to this immense historical fresco? Please join the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation family and inquire into the many ways you can help achieve Riopelle’s dream by filling the form below. Make sure to stay informed as 2023 centenary is coming soon! To discuss contribution opportunities, please contact us at contribute@fondationriopelle.com.

Le rêve
de Riopelle

La création de la Fondation a été inspirée par le rêve de Jean Paul Riopelle, qui souhaitait transmettre sa passion pour l’art, sa vision et insuffler aux prochaines générations d’artistes le désir d’explorer, d’innover et de surpasser leur potentiel créatif. Tout au long de sa carrière, Riopelle a expérimenté avec des techniques et matières diverses, soucieux de la durabilité et de la qualité des matériaux qu’il employait, cherchant ainsi à assurer la pérennité de son œuvre et la transmission des savoirs. Son désir de créer une fondation a émergé pour la première fois vers la fin des années 1960 en France, alors qu’il gagnait en expérience grâce à sa collaboration avec Adrien et Aimé Maeght, qui fournissaient des ateliers de travail pour les artistes. La fondation imaginée par Riopelle aurait rassemblé au même endroit des artistes et des artisans, les conviant à participer aux divers ateliers de sculpture, de peinture, de gravure et d’autres formes d’art. À l’époque, s’inspirant d’un cadran solaire ancien qui se trouvait dans la maison qu’il partageait avec Joan Mitchell à Vétheuil, Riopelle avait même esquissé les plans architecturaux d’un immeuble pensé spécifiquement pour accueillir sa fondation. Ce ne fut là qu’un de ses nombreux projets architecturaux.

En 1980, il tenta d’établir une fondation au Québec dans le but d’accueillir des artistes et artisans du monde entier afin d’établir, disait-il,  « une nouvelle tradition ». Son rêve était « d’amener les gens à travailler ensemble ». Une autre tentative fut effectuée en 1995 dans les dépendances du Château de La Roche-Guyon, au moment du dévoilement de L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg en France.

En octobre 2019, l’annonce de la création de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle, près de 20 ans après la disparition de l’artiste, est guidée par l’admiration et la détermination de ses membres fondateurs. Animés d’une passion commune pour l’artiste, ils souhaitent perpétuer la vision de Riopelle et son immense contribution au monde des arts, tant au Canada qu’à l’international. La Fondation entend notamment créer un espace entièrement dédié à la célébration de sa mémoire, de sa vie et de son art – un espace où tous convergeront pour admirer, revisiter, découvrir et comprendre son oeuvre et sa vision du monde. La Fondation souhaite ainsi permettre aux collectionneurs, aux marchands d’art, aux experts et aux amateurs d’arts visuels, de même qu’au grand public de sa ville natale, Montréal, du Canada et de partout dans le monde, de renouer avec Riopelle et son immense legs artistique.

La Fondation s’est aussi donné pour mission d’inspirer et de soutenir la prochaine génération d’artistes canadiens et internationaux. Riopelle incarnait la liberté et l’innovation. À sa façon, la Fondation en fera tout autant à sa mémoire ; elle encouragera et appuiera l’expérimentation de nouvelles formes d’art, favorisera le développement de partenariats culturels avec des organismes et institutions en arts visuels et autres disciplines, des facultés universitaires, des ateliers d’artistes, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Les activités de la Fondation ne seront ainsi pas confinées aux murs de son espace physique, mais plutôt déployées mondialement grâce à des collaborations aux quatre coins du globe.

Le grand rêve de Riopelle sera ainsi enfin réalisé et son impressionnant héritage pourra avoir un impact positif et durable sur l’histoire de l’art au Canada et à travers le monde. Et ce, encore plus qu’il ne l’espérait au départ.

Mission

La Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle célèbre la vie, les réalisations et l’héritage de l’artiste à travers la conservation, la mise en valeur et la diffusion de son œuvre. Grâce à l’innovation, à des programmes créatifs, à l’éducation aux arts, à des partenariats et des collaborations, la Fondation vise à inspirer les futures générations d’artistes et d’amateurs d’art visuel afin qu’ils puissent développer leur plein potentiel créatif, tout en appréciant mieux l’importance de Jean Paul Riopelle dans l’histoire de l’art canadien et international.

Hommage à Robert le Diabolique, 1953, huile sur toile, 200 x 282 cm
© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

Objectifs

  • Célébrer et faire connaître l’importance de Jean Paul Riopelle dans l’histoire de l’art canadien et international
  • Perpétuer la mémoire de Jean Paul Riopelle en encourageant l’action commémorative, par exemple en installant des plaques sur des édifices où il a vécu et travaillé, de même qu’en sensibilisant les décideurs publics face à l’importance de nommer des bâtiments ou des espaces publics en son honneur
  • Encourager la présentation d’expositions mettant Riopelle en lumière dans les musées du monde entier ainsi que l’action et la collaboration culturelles, plus particulièrement en vue du 100e anniversaire de naissance de l’artiste le 7 octobre 2023
  • Soutenir les jeunes artistes visuels canadiens et internationaux ayant un intérêt pour des techniques non conventionnelles en lien avec les tendances actuelles en création artistique
  • Agir à titre de dépositaire et de centre de référence en matière de documentation, de publications et d’échanges entourant l’œuvre de Riopelle

Fondateurs

La création de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle est le fruit de la collaboration et de la vision d’hommes et de femmes exceptionnels qui, inspirés par l’œuvre et la vie incroyables de Jean Paul Riopelle, se sont rassemblés afin de réaliser son rêve. La Fondation est ainsi devenue réalité en 2018 grâce à l’apport inestimable de ses six membres fondateurs, à l’initiative du collectionneur Michael Audain, dont la passion pour Riopelle et son oeuvre n’a d’égal que ses ambitions pour la réalisation du rêve de l’artiste de voir une fondation éponyme perpétuer son legs.

Michael Audain

Michael J. Audain, OC, OBC

Michael Audain est président de Polygon Homes Ltd., l'un des chefs de file de l'immobilier résidentiel de la Colombie-Britannique. Issu de la cinquième génération d'une lignée britanno-colombienne, il a fait ses études à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à la London School of Economics.

Un ardent défenseur des arts visuels, M. Audain est président de la Fondation Audain, de la Fondation du Musée d’art Audain et de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle. Il a agi à titre de président du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts de Vancouver et de la fondation de cette même institution. Il est présentement membre du conseil de la Fondation du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée d’art Audain et de la Fondation Grizzly Bear.

M. Audain est membre de l'Ordre du Canada et de l'Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique. Il est également récipiendaire de doctorats honorifiques décernés par cinq universités et médaillé des jubilés de diamant et d'or de la Reine.

lire la suitemoins

Yseult Riopelle

Yseult Riopelle est la fille de Françoise Lespérance et de Jean Paul Riopelle. Directrice de Hibou Éditeurs et de Kétoupa édition, elle a entrepris depuis de nombreuses années la publication du Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle. Quatre des dix tomes prévus ont déjà été publiés et le cinquième devrait paraître en 2020.

De 1961 à 1963, Yseult Riopelle étudie la danse à Montréal avec Ludmilla Chiriaeff, Jeanne Renaud et Françoise Riopelle, ensuite à Paris avec Karine Weiner, de 1963 à 1965, puis à New York où elle intègre la compagnie de danse de Merce Cunningham jusqu'en 1968.

Dans les années 1970, qu’elle passe en France, Yseult Riopelle crée et expose des sculptures intégrant divers matériaux. Dans les années 1980, elle crée des bijoux qu’elle exposera, entre autres, au Centre des expositions de Montréal.

En 1988, Jean Paul Riopelle la mandate à titre exclusif pour l'authentification, la recherche et l'édition du catalogue raisonné de ses œuvres. Elle agit d’ailleurs depuis les années 1980 en tant qu'expert de l'œuvre de Jean Paul Riopelle pour les musées canadiens et certaines des plus prestigieuses maisons de vente aux enchères au monde telles que Cornette de St-Cyr, Loudmer, Christie's, Sotheby's, Heffel et Artcurial.

Au fil des ans, Yseult Riopelle a donné une ampleur considérable à la recherche des œuvres de Riopelle et à la publication du catalogue raisonné. Elle agit également comme consultante pour diverses expositions et publications à Paris, New York et Montréal. Elle est actuellement commissaire invitée par le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal pour l’exposition Riopelle : À la rencontre des territoires nordiques et des cultures autochtones, qui débutera à Montréal en novembre 2020, pour ensuite amorcer une tournée canadienne. Elle complète également le cinquième tome du Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle (la période de 1972 à 1979) dont la parution est prévue vers la fin de l'automne 2020.

lire la suitemoins

André Desmarais, OC, OQ

André Desmarais est président délégué du conseil de Power Corporation, poste qu’il occupe depuis 1996. Il a auparavant exercé les fonctions de président et co-chef de la direction de Power Corporation de 1996 jusqu’à son départ à la retraite en février 2020, de même que celles de co-président exécutif du conseil de la Financière Power de 2008 à février 2020.

Avant de se joindre à Power Corporation en 1983, il a été adjoint spécial au ministre de la Justice du Canada et conseiller en placements institutionnels chez Richardson Greenshields Securities Ltd.

Au fil des ans, divers organismes des secteurs de la culture et de la santé ont grandement bénéficié de sa collaboration, de sa participation et de son dévouement. M. Desmarais a notamment joué des rôles clés dans un certain nombre de campagnes de financement pour des organisations nationales, dont celles du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle. Il préside le conseil de la Fondation Baxter & Alma Ricard et est membre du Chairman’s International Advisory Council de l’Americas Society, en plus d’occuper les fonctions de président honoraire du Conseil commercial Canada-Chine.

M. Desmarais est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Concordia et il s’est vu décerner des doctorats honorifiques de l’Université Concordia, de l’Université de Montréal et de l'Université McGill. Il fut nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 2003 et, en 2009, officier de l’Ordre national du Québec.

lire la suitemoins

L'honorable Serge Joyal, CP, OC, OQ, MSRC, Ad.E.

L’honorable Serge Joyal est un juriste canadien ; il a été député, ministre, secrétaire d’État et sénateur.

Diplômé de l’Université de Montréal en droit, il a complété des études post-universitaires à la Faculté de droit comparé de l’université de Strasbourg (France), une maîtrise en droit publique à la Sheffield University (Angleterre) et une scolarité de maîtrise au London School of Economics (Angleterre).

Serge Joyal a été à l’avant-garde de la défense du patrimoine, d’abord comme directeur d’Héritage Montréal en 1972, puis en tant que fiduciaire du Centre canadien d’architecture. Il intervient régulièrement dans le débat public en compagnie de Phyllis Lambert pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine.

Il a été co-fondateur du Musée d’art de Joliette avec le Père Wilfrid Corbeil en 1968. Il est membre du conseil d’administration du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal depuis 2009, et préside son comité d’acquisition d’art décoratif. Grand collectionneur d’art et d’artéfacts historiques, il est mécène de plusieurs grands musées canadiens.

Il est l’auteur et l’éditeur de nombre d’articles et d’ouvrages dans les domaines du droit, des arts et de l’histoire. Depuis longtemps promoteur de l’œuvre de Jean Paul Riopelle, il appuie dès 1998 la publication par Yseult Riopelle des catalogues raisonnés de l’œuvre de l’artiste.

Au cours de sa prolifique carrière publique, il s’est vu décerner un doctorat honorifique de l’Université de Moncton; il a reçu les insignes d’officier de l’Ordre du Canada, d’officier de l’Ordre de la Pléiade, d’officier de l’Ordre national du Québec, de chevalier (1995), d’officier (2008) puis de commandeur (2019) de l’Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur (France).

Il est membre à titre spécial de la Société royale du Canada et il s’est vu décerner le titre d’avocat émérite par le Barreau du Québec.

lire la suitemoins

Pierre Lassonde, CM, GOQ

Pierre Lassonde est le président sortant du conseil d’administration de la Corporation Franco-Nevada, une firme d’investissement canadienne spécialisée dans le secteur minier qu’il a cofondée en 1982 et dont la capitalisation boursière dépasse aujourd’hui les 21 milliards de dollars américains.

Philanthrope engagé, tant au Canada qu'aux États-Unis, dans les domaines de l’éducation, des arts et de l'action communautaire, il fut président du conseil d’administration du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec de 2005 à 2016.

Ses contributions philanthropiques s'élèvent à plus de 100 M $ et ont mené à la création des programmes Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute and Studios à l'Université de l'Utah à Salt Lake City, Lassonde School of Engineering à l'Université York de Toronto, Lassonde Mining Engineering à l'Université de Toronto ainsi que nombre de bourses d'études dans maintes universités canadiennes.

M. Lassonde a aussi siégé au conseil du Denver Opera Company de 2003 à 2008.

Durant son mandat à la présidence du Musée des beaux-arts du Québec, il a mené la campagne de financement de 110 M $. On lui doit notamment un don exceptionnel de 10 M $ et de 5 M $ en œuvres d'art, en appui à la création du Pavillon Pierre Lassonde dédié à l'art canadien. Le Pavillon a donné un nouvel élan à l'institution, cumulant les prix en architecture au cours des dernières années.

De 2015 à 2020, M. Lassonde a présidé le conseil d'administration du Conseil des arts du Canada. Sous sa gouverne, le CAC a fait l'objet d'une importante transformation ainsi que d'un renouveau en matière de gouvernance, doublant également son budget pour atteindre les 360 M $ en 2021. Sa détermination à mesurer l'impact des investissements du CAC lui ont valu nombre d'accolades à l'échelle internationale.

Diplômé de l’Université de Montréal, de Polytechnique Montréal et de l’Université de l’Utah, Pierre Lassonde s’est également vu décerner au fil des ans de nombreux diplômes honorifiques par des institutions universitaires au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Membre de l’Ordre du Canada depuis 2002 et grand officier de l’Ordre national du Québec depuis 2019, il est reconnu en tant que Fellow de l’Académie canadienne du génie en 2006, en plus d’être introduit au Temple de la renommée du secteur minier canadien en 2013.

lire la suitemoins

John R. Porter, CM, OQ, C.LH, O.AL, MSRC, Ph.D.

Docteur en histoire de l’art, muséologue, professeur, chercheur, administrateur et entrepreneur culturel, John R. Porter a mené une double carrière à l’Université Laval ainsi que dans trois des quatre plus grands musées d’art du Canada, à Ottawa, Montréal et Québec.

Auteur prolifique et conférencier apprécié, il a été à la barre du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec de 1993 à 2008, où il fut dès 2001 l’instigateur d’un audacieux projet d’agrandissement, devenu le pavillon Pierre Lassonde, inauguré en 2016.

Parallèlement, M. Porter aura été président du conseil d’administration de l’Université Laval et de la Fondation du MNBAQ, ainsi que fiduciaire de la Fondation du patrimoine de Gilles Vigneault. Conseiller et mentor, il œuvre aujourd’hui à titre d’administrateur bénévole au sein de différents organismes culturels, dont la Fondation de l’Espace Félix Leclerc, le Salon international du livre de Québec et la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle.

Détenteur d’un doctorat honoris causa de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, M. Porter s’est mérité plus d’une quarantaine de prix et distinctions honorifiques au pays et à l’étranger, dont le prestigieux Prix Gérard-Morisset, plus haute distinction du gouvernement du Québec en matière de patrimoine, et la Médaille d’honneur de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.

John R. Porter est officier de l’Ordre national du Québec, membre de l’Ordre du Canada, chevalier de la Légion d’honneur et officier de l’Ordre des arts et lettres de la République française, membre de l’Ordre de la Pléiade, membre de la Société royale du Canada, membre de l’Académie des Grands Québécois et compagnon de l’Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec.

lire la suitemoins

Direction générale

Manon Gauthier
Directrice générale, Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle

Leader de renom au sein du milieu culturel québécois et canadien, Manon Gauthier compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans les domaines des arts et de la créativité, des communications et de la philanthropie.

Au cours de sa carrière, elle a contribué au développement et au rayonnement de nombre d’entreprises et d’organismes locaux, nationaux et internationaux. Elle a notamment occupé des postes de haute direction au sein d’agences internationales de communication et d’affaires publiques, en plus d’avoir mené avec brio la transformation du Centre Segal des arts de la scène, symbole par excellence de la diversité culturelle et artistique de Montréal.

Élue aux élections municipales de 2013, elle a contribué à la relance de la métropole québécoise, cumulant au sein du comité exécutif de la Ville de Montréal les responsabilités de la culture, du patrimoine, du design, d’Espace pour la vie et de l’égalité, en sus de nombre de dossiers économiques liés à l'entrepreneuriat et aux industries créatives et culturelles, au tourisme et aux relations internationales.

Femme de tête, stratège visionnaire et leader rassembleuse, Manon Gauthier a su, au fil des dernières décennies, tisser et entretenir des liens et relations d’affaires avec un vaste réseau d’intervenants, tant dans la sphère publique et institutionnelle que dans les milieux culturels et économiques, ainsi qu’à l’échelle internationale.

lire la suitemoins

Chantal Shah
Directrice générale, Fondation Audain

Depuis ses débuts à titre de directrice générale de la Fondation Audain, Chantal a appuyé la création de nombre d'organismes caritatifs, dont le Audain Art Museum, où elle siège présentement à titre de membre du conseil d'administration et agit à titre de directrice de la fondation de cette même institution.

Elle a collaboré de façon importante à la création de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle, poursuivant aujourd'hui son implication en appui à la direction générale.

Qu'il s'agisse de contribuer à l'avancement des arts visuels dans le cadre de son mandat au sein de la Fondation Audain ou encore par son engagement personnel dans le secteur des arts du spectacle, Chantal se dévoue à l'avancement d'un important nombre d'organismes culturels canadiens.

lire la suitemoins

Contribuez

Atelier de Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, août 1993 par Bruno Massenet

Riopelle rêvait grand. Et son rêve, pour la fondation qu’il avait imaginée, incluait une diversité de gens issus d’horizons multiples et convergeant vers un objectif commun : l’innovation et la création.

À l’image de ses célèbres mosaïques, l’artiste voyait son projet prendre les mille et une teintes de couleur des femmes et des hommes qui, de partout dans le monde, contribueraient à son ambitieuse réalisation.

Vous souhaitez ajouter, vous aussi, votre touche de couleur à cette immense fresque historique ? Joignez-vous dès maintenant à la grande famille de la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle et informez-vous sur les façons de nous aider à concrétiser le rêve de l’artiste en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous. Et, surtout, demeurez à l’affût car le centenaire de 2023 est à nos portes ! 

Pour discuter des possibilités de contribution, veuillez nous contacter via : contribuer@fondationriopelle.com.