Riopelle, the
alchemist of matter

My father, Jean Paul Riopelle, used to refer to his paintings as “sculptures in oil,”1 a statement that suggests the importance he accorded to the material, plastic elements of his art. He was, of course, a sculptor as well as a painter, working first in clay, then moving on to wax, sandstone, porcelain, even bread crumbs. In all his work, and in all of the many media he explored, he cared deeply about the materials of art, which for him were a constant preoccupation and challenge. Indeed, throughout his career, Riopelle literally embraced matter. He loved first and foremost the direct and spontaneous contact with the elements, digging in with hands full, without sophisticated tools, except perhaps for the custom-made palette knives that he often used in working with paint. Riopelle’s love of an immersive contact with the elemental materials of his art explains in part his initial reluctance to use more elaborate techniques such as lithography or etching. Eventually, however, he would finally master these as well, fashioning a language of mysteriously prophetic clues that leave room for unlimited interpretation.

It could be said that for Riopelle the essential and unavoidable task was to acquire knowledge about the materials of his art, the better to master or even transcend them. […] So, too, did he seek to safeguard and pass on knowledge about artistic materials and techniques.

This desire grew as he gained experience over the years, in particular through the printing house Arte, directed by Adrien Maeght, and the engraving and ceramic workshops at the Maeght Foundation in the south of France, where Marguerite and Aimé Maeght, founders of Galerie Maeght in Paris, provided communal spaces for artists. From this experience emerged Riopelle’s desire to create a foundation of his own, a creative space where artists and technicians would collaborate in workshops in sculpture, painting, engraving and other techniques, […] [to broaden the reach of his art internationally, to constitute archives and compile a catalogue raisonné for his oeuvre].

What can we say about his unlimited imagination? Is research not the “essence” of creation? So much research, so many fascinating experiments! Some remained at the study stage – sets for the Merce Cunningham dance company (1966), plans for work in stain glass (circa 1967), a monumental ceiling for the Montreal city hall (circa 1981), an attempt to combine etching and screen printing (circa 1984), [engraving on porcelain paper (1986)], [stage curtains (1988-1989)] and various architectural designs [imperatively based on lighting] for the Jean Paul Riopelle Foundation, including a [very elaborate] plan for the building that would house the foundation, inspired by an antique [tri-dimensional, multi-reading] sundial at La Tour in Vétheuil, France, where he lived with his longtime companion, the American artist Joan Mitchell.

Countless other experiments, however, were fully realized, integrating matter in all its forms—solid, liquid, gas. Sometimes this occurred within a single work, as with La Joute fountain, located at Place-Jean-Paul-Riopelle in Montréal, which combines water and bronze with the light and energy of fire.

[Riopelle’s] lifelong experimentation produced a massive oeuvre of over six thousand paintings, sculptures, and other works, the extent of which is still being established today [but a glimpse into Riopelle’s powerful mind and worldview]. […]

In his final work, L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg, dedicated to Joan Mitchell, Riopelle went so far, in a last attempt to capture the ephemeral, [as to even spray with aerosol paint] migrant birds, figures emblematic of his past life, [transforming them into decoys], as if at the very moment of their last breath…

 

Excerpt from the preface of the book Jean Paul Riopelle: The Artist’s Materials, Los Angeles by Yseult Riopelle (2010), Getty Publications, 2011.

1Pearl Sheffy, “Jean Paul Riopelle Talks about Art”, The Globe Magazine, Toronto, p. 6 – 8, May 1964.

Catalogue raisonné

The Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle is the result of well over 30 years of research and prospection. The total absence of archives prior to 1985 – the artist himself never kept an inventory of his work – required me to trace back his memory and request access to private and public collections around the world.

A laborious task, this research is, above all, a respectful homage to the œuvre of Jean Paul Riopelle, a formidable inquiry led with tenacity and passion. Today, I am presenting you with five important compilations of my father’s œuvre, recognized as one of the most important artists of the 20th century. [The Catalogue raisonné des estampes was also published in 2005.]

More than a catalogue, these works are also art books, documented with unpublished texts, which bring a new perspective on the comprehension of the artworks as well as a new light on the history of each period.

– Yseult Riopelle

 

The fifth volume of the Catalogue raisonné (1972 – 1979) is currently in preparation and should be published in 2020. To purchase one or more of the publications, click here.

 

Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle

 

Artwork Periods

1939 - 1941

Hibou premier, Oil on canvas on cardboard
40.4 x 30 cm

1945

Autoportrait, Ink on paper mounted on cardboard
66 x 51 cm

1946

Entre les quatre murs du vent, j'écoute - Nadaka, Oil on canvas, 76 x 92 cm

1950

Défilé, Oil on canvas
100 x 165 cm

1951 - 1952

Retour d'Espagne, Oil on canvas
162.5 x 131.2 cm

1952 - 1953

Vent du nord, Oil on canvas
129.5 x 194.9 cm

1953

Hommage à Robert le Diabolique, Oil on canvas
200 x 282 cm

1954 - 1955

Misaine, Oil on canvas
116.2 x 89 cm

1955

Sans titre, Watercolour
25 x 33.6 cm

1955

Masque esquimau, Gouache on paper
73.6 x 104.1 cm

1956

Envol, Oil on canvas
97 x 130 cm

1958

Lances, Oil on canvas
60 x 73 cm

1960 - 1961

Panache, Unique bronze, lost wax
42 x 32 x 37 cm

1962

Kenavo, Oil on canvas
46 x 55 cm

1962

L'Arbre, Toto et La Dame de carreau, Oil on canvas, 195.6 x 129.5 cm x 3, triptych

1962 - 1963

Pera Cava, Oil on canvas
81 x 100 cm

1964

La Bolduc, Oil on canvas
295.5 x 295.5 cm

1967

Feuilles VI, Lithography
120 x 75.5 cm

1970

Hommage à Grey Owl, Oil on canvas
299.5 x 400 cm

1971

Carcajoux, Mixed media on lithographic essay
120.5 x 160 cm

1973

Les Rois de Thulé, Mixed media on paper
65 x 50 cm

1974

Au pays de l'Héliante, Oil on canvas
130 x 360 cm, triptych

1977

Iceberg no 1, Oil on canvas
280 x 430 cm

1982

Soufflé d'oies, Mixed media on wood
160 x 160 cm

1987

Honni soit qui mal y pense, Etching
44.6 x 60 cm

1990

Matinée au Cap Tourmente, recto, Mixed media on wood, 124.5 x 246.5 cm

1990

Matinée au Cap Tourmente, verso, Mixed media on wood, 124.5 x 246.5 cm

1992

Sans titre, autour de Rosa, Acrylic on canvas
154.3 x 299 cm

© Estate of Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

The great
exhibitions

Riopelle devant Point de rencontre, 1963

Jean Paul Riopelle exhibits at the 61st Salon du printemps at the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts in 1944. In 1946, he participates to the first Exposition automatiste taking place at 1257 Amherst Street in Montréal, with Paul-Émile Borduas, Marcel Barbeau, Fernand Leduc, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Pierre Gauvreau and Roger Fauteux. That year, his work is presented with the Borduas group at Studio Boas in New York. In 1947, the Exposition automatiste is presented at Galerie du Luxembourg in Paris. Finally, Riopelle presents in 1949 his first solo exhibition at Nina Dausset’s Galerie La Dragonne, in Paris. It will mark the beginning of a stellar career.

From 1945 until today, over 200 solo or group exhibitions, featuring Riopelle, were presented. As early as 1951, we can find Riopelle in Berlin, Brussels and Sao Paulo. The next year, it is Philadelphia, Zurich and London. As of 1953, Riopelle is regularly featured at Galerie Pierre Matisse in New York. In 1953, his presence at the Younger European Painters’ exhibition at the Guggenheim Museum in New York is remarked upon.

Through time, Riopelle’s artwork will be exhibited in various cities in the United States, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland, Brazil, Germany, Japan, Poland and Austria – the list is endless. Several museums will dedicate important retrospectives to the artist and his work.

In Canada, the touring exhibition, Jean Paul Riopelle, Peinture et sculpture, including works presented at the Venice Biennale in 1962, is presented in Ottawa in 1963 at the National Gallery of Canada, then Montréal, Toronto and Washington. In 1981, the Musée national d’art moderne du Centre Georges-Pompidou, in Paris, presented Jean Paul Riopelle, Peinture, 1946 -1977, an exhibition that later travelled to the Musée du Québec (now Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec). In 1991, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts presented Jean Paul Riopelle. In 2002, two major Riopelle exhibitions are presented, one at the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts and the other at the Musée du Québec. In 2018, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec presented Mitchell/Riopelle – un couple dans la démesure, which also travelled to Landerneau, France.

Riopelle continues to fascinate; in the fall of 2020, the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts will present a major exhibition entitled Riopelle: The call of Northern Landscapes and Indigenous Cultures.

This major exhibition will also travel across Canada, as of spring 2021, including, among other destinations, the Audain Art Museum in Whistler, British Columbia.

For a complete chronology of the exhibitions, please visit Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle

Riopelle in the great public collections

Envol 1956, Oil on canvas, 97 x 130 cm, Canada Council Art Bank
© Estate of Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

According to the partial data at our disposal [1], Riopelle artworks in public collections, whether currently exhibited or in the reserves, are disseminated in over 60 cities located in 18 countries on 6 continents. In total, this amounts to no less than 400 paintings, excluding engravings and sculptures.

Canada takes on the lion’s share with 186 artworks, of which 114 are in Québec and 51 in Ontario. The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec counts 35 pieces, including several masterpieces: L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg (1992, mixed techniques on canvas, 1.52 x 40 m, triptych) and Poussière de soleil, a magnificient mosaic from the 1950s (1953 -1954, oil on canvas, 270 x 345 cm). The Montréal Museum of Fine Arts has a collection of 32 Riopelles and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, 17; the National Gallery of Canada, in Ottawa, has 16, including Hommage aux Nymphéas – Pavane (1954, oil on canvas, 300 x 550.2 cm, triptych) and the Art Gallery of Ontario, in Toronto, 9.

The United States, meanwhile, have at least 28 Riopelles. Among others, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington counts 15 artworks by Riopelle. There are 3 at the Guggenheim Museum and one at the Museum of Modern Art, both in New York.

The European museums count not less than 53 Riopelles. France ranks first with 21, of which 7 are at Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou in Paris. Among other masterpieces, we find Chevreuse (1954, oil on canvas, 300 x 390 cm), Feu vert, a piece from the Bridgehampton series (1960, watercolour and ink on marouflaged paper,185 x 425 cm) and Mitchikanabikong (1975, oil on canvas, 195 x 130.5 cm, x 3, triptyque). France also has a masterpiece from the 1960s, Point de rencontre (1963, oil on canvas, 428 x 564 cm, 5 panels), a gift from the Canadian Government to France on the occasion of the bicentenary of the French Revolution. Until recently, it was exhibited at Opéra de Bastille in Paris. It is currently being restored. Finally, a great mosaic from the 1950s is in Musée de Rennes in France, Sans titre (1953, oil on canvas, 114 x 145 cm).

Germany has 8 Riopelles, of which 3 are in Ludwig Museum in Cologne; 8 are in Switzerland, of which 4 are in various museums in Geneva. The others are disseminated between London, Brussels, Oslo and Stockholm.

Elsewhere in the world, according to our data, Riopelles are scarcer: 3 in Japan, 2 in Australia, 1 in Mexico, 1 in Israel and 1 in Iran. In the latter case, it is a masterpiece: Baubesse 2 (1956, oil on canvas, 204 x 220 cm) preserved at the Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art.

For more details about the great public collections, please visit Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle.

[1] Based on partial data. The research is ongoing to identify all public collections including Riopelle artworks.

Riopelle and
the art market

Vent du nord, 1952-1953, Oil on canvas, 129.5 x 194.9 cm
© Estate of Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

According to Thierry Ehrmann, founder and chief executive officer of the French corporation ArtMarket.com, which specializes in art market quotations, the international market reached in 2019 a level of performance similar to that of the financial market: for the first half of the year, the performance of the Artprice 100 index reached 16%. The Artprice index informs collectors about the position of the 100 best-rated modern and contemporary artists.

A fact worth noting: in 2019, Jean Paul Riopelle entered this prestigious top 100. It can hardly come as a surprise, considering that in 2017, two masterpieces from the mosaic period, Sans titre (1953) and Vent du nord (1952-1953) were respectively sold for US $ 5,771,276 and US $ 5,529,436 – the second and third highest-priced Canadian pieces of art surpassed, to the best of our knowledge, only by one painting, Mountain Forms by Lawren Harris, which sold at auction for over  US $ 8 million in 2016.

According to the data published by the auction houses Christie’s, Heffel and Sotheby’s, no less than 26 Riopelles were sold for US $ 1 million or more between 2006 and 2019. With the exception of one painting completed in 1967-1968, all of these artworks belong to the mosaic period of the 1950s. Twelve were sold in Paris, 11 in Toronto, 2 in London and 1 in New York City, according to the Artnet website.

The five highest prices at auction sales were:

US $ 5,771,276 Sans titre, 1953, oil on canvas, 200 x 300 cm, Christie’s, Paris, 2017

US $ 5,529,436 Vent du nord, 1952/53, oil on canvas, 129.5 x 194.9 cm, Heffel, Toronto 2017

US $ 4,912,382 Forestine, 1954, oil on canvas, 200 x 300.5 cm, Sotheby’s, Paris, 2018

US $ 2,295,426 Composition, 1951/52, oil on canvas, 100 x 200 cm, Christie’s, Paris, 2012

US $ 2,243,822 La Forêt, 1953, oil on canvas, 130 x 195 cm Sotheby’s, Paris, 2015

Many prestigious paintings were also sold privately by two prominent Riopelle art dealers, namely Franck Prazan in Paris and Simon Blais in Montréal.

Although Riopelle paintings continue to break records for their market worth, the artist always was determined to make his art accessible to people of more modest means than just the buyers of his major oil paintings. So there is still much available at reasonable prices. For example, in the first six months of 2020, three fine paintings on canvas sold at auction for under US $100,000, while samples of his beautiful works on papers and lithographs abound in both auction houses and at art dealers. Even better, in that same six-month period, 11 watercolours, pastels and gouaches were sold at auction for prices ranging US $6,000 to $48,000 while there were also 17 lithograph and colour etching sales made at prices US $900 to $3,100. Prospective buyers should, of course, ensure that the works are genuine by patronizing well-established dealers or consulting the Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle.

Reproduction Rights
and Artwork Authentication

In Canada, artwork is protected by the Copyright Act. Anyone wishing to reproduce or disseminate any artwork must first obtain a licence and pay the required fee. It is the case, for example, for any artwork reproduced in a book or presented as part of an exhibition.

Any reproduction of Jean Paul Riopelle artwork is subject to the provisions of the law. Any reproduction must indicate, in addition to the name of the artist, the title of the artwork, the year, the dimensions, as well as the following mention:

© Estate of Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN or
© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / ADAGP

Artwork must be reproduced in its entirety, without any modification, excluding the reproduction of details or overprint as well as any other element that is not a part of the artwork. Any and all use of artwork by Jean Paul Riopelle is subject to prior approval.

In Canada, please contact SOCAN:

Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada
c/o: Gilles Lessard
gilles.lessard@socan.com
514.844.8377 ex. 4226

> Information and forms

In Europe, please contact ADAGP:

Société des auteurs dans les arts graphiques et plastiques
11, rue Berryer
75008 Paris, France
Tel : (33) 01 43 59 09 79
www.adagp.fr

Authentication of artwork

Any and all requests pertaining to the authentication of artwork must be addressed to Yseult Riopelle via info@riopelle.ca

Riopelle, alchimiste
de la matière

Mon père, Jean Paul Riopelle, parlait de ses toiles comme de « sculptures à l’huile »1, énoncé qui témoigne de l’importance qu’il accordait à la matière, aux éléments plastiques de son art. Il était, bien entendu, à la fois sculpteur et peintre, maniant d’abord l’argile, ensuite la cire, le grès, la porcelaine et même les miettes de pain. Dans l’ensemble de son œuvre et dans les divers médias qu’il a explorés, la rencontre avec la matière fut une préoccupation et un défi de tous les instants.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Riopelle a littéralement embrassé la matière. Il aimait avant tout le contact direct et spontané avec les éléments, y plongeant presque à pleines mains, sans outillage sophistiqué, à l’exception de certains couteaux qu’il faisait réaliser sur mesure. D’où, en partie, sa timidité des premières années devant des techniques plus élaborées, et donc beaucoup moins directes ou immédiates, comme la lithographie et l’eau-forte. Il arrivera toutefois à les apprivoiser pleinement et à créer un langage aux jeux de pistes sibyllins laissant place aux interprétations illimitées.

Pour Riopelle, ce qui était incontournable et fondamental, c’était d’apprendre à connaître les matériaux et les techniques de son art, pour mieux les maîtriser et même allègrement les transcender. […] Il a donc à son tour cherché à protéger et à transmettre ce savoir sur les techniques et les matériaux.

Cet intérêt s’est accru avec l’expérience acquise au cours des ans, en particulier à l’imprimerie Arte, dirigée par Adrien Maeght, et aux ateliers de gravure et de céramique de la Fondation Maeght dans le sud de la France, mis à la disposition des artistes par Marguerite et Aimé Maeght, créateurs de la galerie du même nom. Au terme de cette expérience, Riopelle a souhaité créer sa propre fondation, un espace créatif où artistes et techniciens pourraient travailler en collaboration grâce à un vaste choix d’ateliers de fonderie, de sculpture, de peinture, de gravure, de lithographie, de dorure, de céramique, de restauration, afin d’élargir la portée internationale de son art, constituer des archives et produire un catalogue raisonné de son œuvre.

Que dire de son imagination sans limite ? La recherche n’est-elle pas l’« essence » de la création ? Que de recherches, que d’expérimentations passionnantes ! Certaines ne verront jamais le jour et resteront au stade de l’étude, par exemple les décors pour la compagnie de danse de Merce Cunningham (1966), ses travaux sur le vitrail (vers 1967), un plafond monumental en porcelaine prévu pour l’hôtel de ville de Montréal (vers 1981), la combinaison de l’eau-forte à la sérigraphie (vers 1984), la gravure sur papier porcelaine (1986), les rideaux de scène (1988-1989) et divers projets architecturaux impérativement basés sur la lumière pour la Fondation Jean Paul Riopelle dont celui, très élaboré, inspiré d’un cadran solaire en pierre, antique tridimensionnel et à multiples lectures, échoué au haut des marches menant à « La Tour » à Vétheuil en France, où il a vécu avec sa compagne, l’artiste américaine Joan Mitchell.

On compte d’innombrables expérimentations pleinement abouties dans l’intégration de la matière sous toutes ses formes – solide, liquide et même gazeuse. On l’observe parfois dans une œuvre unique, par exemple dans la fontaine La Joute, sise Place-Jean-Paul-Riopelle, à Montréal, qui combine l’eau et le bronze à la lumière et à l’énergie du feu.

Œuvre de toute une vie, l’expérimentation est au cœur de l’immense corpus de plus de six mille toiles, sculptures et autres réalisations dont nous tentons encore aujourd’hui de prendre la pleine mesure et qui ne laissent entrevoir qu’une infime parcelle de la richesse de l’esprit et du monde de Riopelle

Dans son œuvre finale, L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg, dédiée à Joan Mitchell, Riopelle, dans l’ultime espoir de saisir l’éphémère, ira même jusqu’à « bomber » des oiseaux migrateurs, figures emblématiques de sa vie passée, les transformant ainsi en appelants silhouettes, presque à l’instant de leur dernier souffle de vie…

 

Adaptation extraite de la préface de l’ouvrage Jean Paul Riopelle: The Artist’s Materials, par Yseult Riopelle (2010), Los Angeles, Getty Publications, 2011.

1Pearl Sheffy, « Jean Paul Riopelle Talks about Art », The Globe Magazine, Toronto, p. 6 – 8, mai 1964.

Le Catalogue raisonné
de Jean Paul Riopelle

Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle est l’aboutissement de plus de 30 années de recherche et de prospection. L’absence totale d’archives antérieures à 1985 – l’artiste lui-même n’ayant tenu aucun inventaire de ses œuvres avant cette date – a fait en sorte qu’il a fallu remonter toutes les filières portées à sa connaissance et demander accès à des collections privées et publiques partout dans le monde.

Toute laborieuse qu’elle ait été, cette recherche est surtout empreinte de respect pour l’œuvre de Jean Paul Riopelle, un véritable travail de détective mené avec ténacité et passion. Elle permet aujourd’hui de vous présenter cinq compilations importantes des œuvres de mon père, un artiste reconnu comme l’un des plus marquants du XXe siècle. [Le Catalogue raisonné des estampes a également été publié en 2005.]

Plus qu’un catalogue raisonné, ces ouvrages sont aussi des livres d’art accompagnés de textes inédits qui apportent un changement de perspective sur la compréhension des œuvres et un éclairage nouveau sur l’histoire proprement dite de chaque période.

– Yseult Riopelle

 

Le tome 5 du Catalogue raisonné (1972 – 1979) est présentement en préparation. Sa publication est prévue à l’automne 2020. Pour vous procurer l’une ou l’autre de ces publications, cliquez ici.

Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle

1939 - 1941

Hibou premier, huile sur carton-toile
40,4 x 30 cm

1945

Autoportrait, encre sur papier collé sur carton
66 x 51 cm

1946

Entre les quatre murs du vent, j'écoute - Nadaka, huile sur toile, 76 x 92 cm

1950

Défilé, huile sur toile
100 x 165 cm

1951 - 1952

Retour d'Espagne, huile sur toile
162,5 x 131,2 cm

1952 - 1953

Vent du nord, huile sur toile
129,5 x 194,9 cm

1953

Hommage à Robert le Diabolique, huile sur toile
200 x 282 cm

1954 - 1955

Misaine, huile sur toile
116,2 x 89 cm

1955

Sans titre, aquarelle
25 x 33,6 cm

1955

Masque esquimau, gouache sur papier
73,6 x 104,1 cm

1956

Envol, huile sur toile
97 x 130 cm

1958

Lances, huile sur toile
60 x 73 cm

1960 - 1961

Panache, bronze unique, cire perdue
42 x 32 x 37 cm

1962

Kenavo, huile sur toile
46 x 55 cm

1962

L'Arbre, Toto et La Dame de carreau, huile sur toile, 195,6 x 129,5 cm x 3, triptyque

1962 - 1963

Pera Cava, huile sur toile
81 x 100 cm

1964

La Bolduc, huile sur toile
295,5 x 295,5 cm

1967

Feuilles VI, lithographie
120 x 75,5 cm

1970

Hommage à Grey Owl, huile sur toile
299,5 x 400 cm

1971

Carcajoux, technique mixte sur essai de lithographie, 120,5 x 160 cm

1973

Les Rois de Thulé, technique mixte sur papier
60 x 50 cm

1974

Au pays de l'Héliante, huile sur toile
130 x 360 cm, triptyque

1977

Iceberg no 1, huile sur toile
280 x 430 cm

1982

Soufflé d'oies, technique mixte sur bois
160 x 160 cm

1987

Honni soit qui mal y pense, eau-forte
44,6 x 60 cm

1990

Matinée au Cap Tourmente, recto, technique mixte sur bois, 124,5 x 246,5 cm

1990

Matinée au Cap Tourmente, verso, technique mixte sur bois, 124,5 x 246,5 cm

1992

Sans titre, autour de Rosa, acrylique sur toile
154,3 x 299 cm

© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

Les grandes
expositions

Riopelle devant Point de rencontre, 1963

Jean Paul Riopelle expose pour la première fois au 61e Salon du printemps du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal qui se tient en 1944. En 1946, il participe à la première exposition automatiste qui se tient au 1257, rue Amherst, à Montréal, en compagnie de Paul-Émile Borduas, Marcel Barbeau, Fernand Leduc, Jean-Paul Mousseau, Pierre Gauvreau et Roger Fauteux ; cette année-là, il expose avec le groupe de Borduas au Studio Boas à New York. En 1947, l’exposition automatiste est présentée à la Galerie du Luxembourg, à Paris. Enfin, en 1949, Riopelle tient sa première exposition solo à la Galerie la Dragonne de Nina Dausset, à Paris. Ce sera le début d’une carrière fulgurante.

De 1945 à aujourd’hui, on compte plus de 200 expositions individuelles et encore plus d’expositions de groupe. Dès 1951, on retrouve des Riopelle à Berlin, Bruxelles et Sao Paulo. L’année suivante, c’est au tour de Philadelphie, Zurich et Londres. À partir de 1953, Riopelle expose régulièrement à la Galerie Pierre Matisse de New York. En 1953 toujours, sa présence à l’exposition Younger European Painters au Musée Guggenheim à New York est remarquée.

Au fil des ans, Riopelle sera exposé dans différentes villes aux États-Unis, en Italie, en Suède, en Suisse, au Brésil, en Allemagne, au Japon, en Pologne et en Autriche –  la liste est interminable. Plusieurs musées vont lui consacrer d’importantes rétrospectives.

Au Canada, citons Jean Paul Riopelle, Peinture et sculpture, une exposition itinérante comprenant une partie des œuvres présentées à la Biennale de Venise en 1962 et qui sera présentée en 1963 à Ottawa, Montréal, Toronto et Washington. En 1981, le Musée national d’art moderne du Centre Georges-Pompidou, à Paris, présente Jean Paul Riopelle, Peinture 1946-1977, une exposition qui sera également présentée au Musée du Québec (devenu depuis le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec). En 1991, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal présente Jean Paul Riopelle. En 2002, ce sont deux grandes expositions Riopelle, l’une au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et une autre au Musée du Québec. Plus récemment, en 2018, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec présentait Mitchell/Riopelle — un couple dans la démesure, qui a aussi été présentée à Landerneau, en France.

Et Riopelle continue de fasciner ; à l’automne 2020, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal présentera une grande exposition intitulée Riopelle : À la rencontre des territoires nordiques et des cultures autochtones.

Cette grande exposition amorcera ensuite, dès le printemps 2021, une tournée pan-canadienne, prévoyant entre autres, un arrêt au Audain Art Museum de Whistler en Colombie-Britannique.

Pour la chronologie complète des expositions, voir Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle.

Riopelle dans
les grandes collections publiques

Envol, 1956, huile sur toile, 97 x 130 cm, Banque d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada
© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

Selon les données partielles dont nous disposons [1], les œuvres de Jean Paul Riopelle appartenant à des collections publiques, qu’elles soient exposées ou conservées dans des réserves, sont disséminées dans plus de 60 villes situées dans 18 pays et sur 6 continents. On compte au total plus de 400 peintures au nombre de ces collections, excluant les estampes et les sculptures.

Le Canada se taille la part du lion avec 186 œuvres, dont 114 au Québec et 51 en Ontario. Le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec en possède 35 et parmi celles-ci on compte des œuvres marquantes : L’Hommage à Rosa Luxemburg (1992, techniques mixtes sur toile, 1,52 x 40 m, triptyque) et Poussière de soleil, une magnifique mosaïque des années 1950 (1953-1954, huile sur toile, 270 x 345 cm). Le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal possède pour sa part 32 Riopelle, et le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, 17; le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada à Ottawa compte 16 Riopelle, dont Hommage aux Nymphéas – Pavane (1954, huile sur toile, 300 x 550,2 cm, triptyque) et le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario à Toronto, 9.

Les États-Unis ne sont pas en reste : on y retrouve au moins 28 Riopelle. Entre autres, le Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden à Washington en possède à lui seul 15.  On en dénombre 3 au Musée Guggenheim et 1 au Museum of Modern Art, tous deux à New York.

Les musées d’Europe comptent pas moins de 53 Riopelle. La France arrive en tête avec 21, dont 7 se trouvent au Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, à Paris. On y trouve notamment des œuvres majeures, dont Chevreuse (1954, huile sur toile, 300 x 390 cm), Feu vert, une œuvre de la série Bridgehampton (1960, aquarelle et encre sur papier marouflé sur toile,185 x 425 cm) et Mitchikanabikong (1975, huile sur toile, 195 x 130,5 cm, x 3, triptyque). La France possède aussi un chef-d’œuvre des années 1960, Point de rencontre (1963, huile sur toile, 428 x 564 cm, 5 panneaux), un cadeau du gouvernement canadien à la France à l’occasion du bicentenaire de la Révolution française. Jusqu’à tout récemment, on pouvait l’admirer à l’Opéra Bastille de Paris. L’œuvre est présentement en restauration. Signalons enfin une grande mosaïque des années 1950 conservée au Musée de Rennes, en France, Sans titre (1953, huile sur toile, 114 x 145 cm).

L’Allemagne compte 8 Riopelle, dont 3 sont conservés au Ludwig Museum à Cologne; on en trouve également 8 en Suisse, dont 4 dans divers musées de Genève. Les autres œuvres sont réparties entre quelques grandes villes dont Londres, Bruxelles, Oslo et Stockholm.

Ailleurs dans le monde, selon les données partielles dont nous disposons, les Riopelle se font plus rares : 3 au Japon, 2 en Australie, 1 au Mexique, 1 en Israël et 1 en Iran. Dans ce dernier cas, il s’agit d’une œuvre majeure : Baubesse 2 (1956, huile sur toile, 204 x 220 cm) conservée au Tehran Museum of Contemporary Art.

Pour des informations détaillées sur les œuvres appartenant aux grandes collections publiques, voir Le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle.

[1] Ces données sont partielles. La recherche se poursuit toujours pour identifier les collections qui comptent des Riopelle.

Riopelle et
le marché de l’art

Vent du nord, 1952-1953, huile sur toile, 129,5 x 194,9 cm
© Succession  Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN (2020)

Selon Thierry Ehrmann, fondateur et président-directeur général de l’entreprise française ArtMarket.com, spécialisée dans la cotation du marché de l’art, le marché mondial a atteint en 2019 un niveau de performance comparable à celui du marché financier : pour la première moitié de l’année, la performance de l’indice Artprice 100 a atteint 16 %. L’indice Artprice informe les collectionneurs de la position des 100 artistes modernes et contemporains les mieux cotés.

Fait à remarquer : en 2019, Jean Paul Riopelle a fait son entrée dans ce prestigieux top 100. On ne s’en surprendra pas car, en 2017, deux œuvres de la période des mosaïques, Sans titre (1953) et Vent du nord (1952-1953) se sont vendues, respectivement, à 5 771 276 $ US et 5 529 436 $ US, devenant les deuxième et troisième œuvres d’art les plus coûteuses au Canada – devancées, à notre connaissance, par un seul tableau, Mountain Forms, de Lawren Harris, vendu plus de 8 millions $ US en 2016.

Selon les données publiées par les maisons de vente aux enchères Christie’s, Heffel et Sotheby’s, pas moins de 26 Riopelle se sont vendus à 1 million de dollars américains ou plus entre 2006 et 2019. À l’exception d’une toile réalisée en 1967-1968, toutes ces œuvres appartiennent à la période des mosaïques des années 1950. Douze ont été vendues à Paris, 11 à Toronto, 2 à Londres et 1 à New York, selon le site Artnet.

Les cinq prix les plus élevés lors de vente à l’encan sont :

5 771 276 $ US Sans titre, 1953, huile sur toile, 200 x 300 cm, Christie’s, Paris, 2017

5 529 436 $ US Vent du nord, 1952-1953, huile sur toile, 129,5 x 194,9 cm, Heffel, Toronto 2017

4 912 382 $ US Forestine, 1954, huile sur toile, 200 x 300,5 cm, Sotheby’s, Paris, 2018

2 295 426 $ US Composition, 1951-1952, huile sur toile, 100 x 200 cm, Christie’s, Paris, 2012

2 243 822 $ US La Forêt, 1953, huile sur toile, 130 x 195 cm Sotheby’s, Paris, 2015

Plusieurs œuvres de prestige ont également été vendues à titre privé par deux importants marchands d’art de l’œuvre de Riopelle, soit Franck Prazan à Paris et Simon Blais à Montréal.

Alors que les oeuvres de Riopelle continuent de fracasser les records de vente, l’artiste était déterminé à rendre son art accessible et ce, au-delà des grands collectionneurs de ses célèbres huiles sur toile. Ainsi, un nombre considérable d’oeuvres sont vendues à des prix abordables. Par exemple, au cours des premiers six mois de l’année 2020, 3 toiles ont été vendues à l’encan en deçà de 100 000 $ US, alors que ses magnifiques oeuvres sur papier et lithographies sont disponibles en grand nombre à la fois dans les maisons de vente aux enchères et chez les marchands d’art. Plus encore, pour la même période, 11 aquarelles, oeuvres au pastel et gouaches ont été vendues à l’encan à des prix variant entre 6 000 $ US et 48 000 $ US. À ceci s’ajoutent 17 lithographies et gravures vendues entre 900 $ US et 3 100 $ US. Bien entendu, les acquéreurs potentiels devraient toujours s’assurer de l’authenticité des oeuvres en consultant les marchands d’art reconnus ou en consultant le Catalogue raisonné de Jean Paul Riopelle.

 

droits de reproduction
et authentification d’œuvres

Au Canada, les œuvres d’art sont protégées par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur. Quiconque souhaite reproduire ou diffuser une œuvre doit obtenir une licence et acquitter des droits. C’est le cas, par exemple, des œuvres reproduites dans un livre ou présentées dans une exposition. La reproduction des œuvres de Jean Paul Riopelle est sujette aux dispositions de cette loi. Lors de la reproduction des œuvres, il est impératif d’indiquer, outre le nom de l’artiste, le titre de l’œuvre, l’année de réalisation et les dimensions, ainsi que la mention suivante :

© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / SOCAN ou
© Succession Jean Paul Riopelle / ADAGP

L’œuvre doit être reproduite intégralement et sans aucune modification, ce qui exclut la reproduction de détails et la surimpression de texte ou de tout autre élément étranger à l’œuvre. Toute utilisation des œuvres de Jean Paul Riopelle doit faire l’objet d’une autorisation préalable.

Pour le Canada, veuillez communiquer avec la SOCAN :

Société du droit de reproduction des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs au Canada – Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada

A/S : Gilles Lessard
gilles.lessard@socan.com
514.844.8377, poste 4226
www.socan.com

> Toutes les informations ainsi qu’un formulaire en ligne

Pour l’Europe, veuillez contacter l’ADAGP :

Société des auteurs dans les arts graphiques et plastiques
11, rue Berryer
75008 Paris, France
Tél. : (33) 01 43 59 09 79
www.adagp.fr

Authentification d’œuvres

Les demandes concernant l’authentification des œuvres doivent être acheminées à l’attention de Mme Yseult Riopelle via info@riopelle.ca